Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
User avatar
Veikkeli
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby Veikkeli » Fri Oct 02, 2015 2:28 pm

I upgraded to Win10 and now when I start MX Simulator, the screen doesn't refresh unless I go to desktop and back. I can't explain this very well in English.

kxrider199
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:58 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas (Houston)

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby kxrider199 » Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:21 am

Veikkeli wrote:I upgraded to Win10 and now when I start MX Simulator, the screen doesn't refresh unless I go to desktop and back. I can't explain this very well in English.


Try reinstalling MXS.

User avatar
Veikkeli
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby Veikkeli » Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:15 am

kxrider199 wrote:
Veikkeli wrote:I upgraded to Win10 and now when I start MX Simulator, the screen doesn't refresh unless I go to desktop and back. I can't explain this very well in English.


Try reinstalling MXS.

That was the first thing I did. Three times.

kxrider199
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:58 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas (Houston)

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby kxrider199 » Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:48 pm

It could be a bad Windows 10 install. I have heard of many problems with that.

User avatar
dbaum25moto
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:33 am
Team: Dabaum Designs
Location: Indiana

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby dbaum25moto » Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:00 pm

Make sure you have the newest drivers, Im pretty sure all cards support win10 now If you update the drivers
Image

User avatar
Veikkeli
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby Veikkeli » Sat Oct 10, 2015 8:16 am

kxrider199 wrote:It could be a bad Windows 10 install. I have heard of many problems with that.

Yeah, it failed for me the first time but I did clean install it and everything else is working properly.
dbaum25moto wrote:Make sure you have the newest drivers, Im pretty sure all cards support win10 now If you update the drivers

I've updated them several times.

HOWEVER, yesterday I decided to give Sim a go once again and it worked perfectly. I have no idea what has happened, I haven't tried to adjust anything. Might be Windows updates?

vmaki
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:46 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: Suomi, Finland

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby vmaki » Sat Oct 10, 2015 12:30 pm

Veikkeli wrote:
kxrider199 wrote:It could be a bad Windows 10 install. I have heard of many problems with that.

Yeah, it failed for me the first time but I did clean install it and everything else is working properly.
dbaum25moto wrote:Make sure you have the newest drivers, Im pretty sure all cards support win10 now If you update the drivers

I've updated them several times.

HOWEVER, yesterday I decided to give Sim a go once again and it worked perfectly. I have no idea what has happened, I haven't tried to adjust anything. Might be Windows updates?


Do you have two monitors? I have my tv as a second monitor and if I duplicate my desktop to both screens mxs will start frozen. I can alt tab out and everything else works. If I extend the desktop or use just one output mxs works just fine!
Image

User avatar
Veikkeli
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby Veikkeli » Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:19 pm

vmaki wrote:
Veikkeli wrote:
kxrider199 wrote:It could be a bad Windows 10 install. I have heard of many problems with that.

Yeah, it failed for me the first time but I did clean install it and everything else is working properly.
dbaum25moto wrote:Make sure you have the newest drivers, Im pretty sure all cards support win10 now If you update the drivers

I've updated them several times.

HOWEVER, yesterday I decided to give Sim a go once again and it worked perfectly. I have no idea what has happened, I haven't tried to adjust anything. Might be Windows updates?


Do you have two monitors? I have my tv as a second monitor and if I duplicate my desktop to both screens mxs will start frozen. I can alt tab out and everything else works. If I extend the desktop or use just one output mxs works just fine!

Interesting, I do in fact have a TV as a second monitor, duplicated as well. It didn't matter though if it was on or off. And as I said, it's now working regardless of the TV.

User avatar
blind bryan
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:28 am
Location: San Diego

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby blind bryan » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:03 am

Ok so windows decided that it wanted to update me to windows 10. It scheduled it and ran the update (no big deal).

BUT..... now i'm getting like 10fps instead of the 125fps that I have always had.
I updated the graphics card drivers and the display drivers, restarted the computer and still nothing...

I know its kinda hard to diagnose these things over the internet, but any ideas would be awesome. Thanks guys!

User avatar
aeffertz
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 7:01 am
Team: Malt Liquor Boiz
Location: Wiscansin

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby aeffertz » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:42 am

I recently updated to Windows 10, as much as I resent it. Haven't noticed any performance issues for MXS. I have other issues, like the game not opening on the first try and just Windows being slower in general, but I digress...

What I would do, is run Display Driver uninstaller, which completely removes all the driver information for your hardware.

http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/dis ... nload.html

Then once your computer is restarted, go ahead and download/reinstall all the necessary drivers and software. Using the upgrade feature from one OS to another can cause weird issues. I guess another thing I'd check is make sure you're using your graphics card and not the onboard graphics (if applicable).
Need a custom track object? Send me a PM! Will model for beer money.

Image

User avatar
blind bryan
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:28 am
Location: San Diego

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby blind bryan » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:56 am

Thanks aeffertz, I got it back running awesome. I had to reinstall my NVidia stuff and play around a bit with settings. Fps is back at 125, (not that it does me any good since I can't even qualify for AMs haha)

FOLEY153
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 7:24 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby FOLEY153 » Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:05 am

so will I have to reinstall sim

User avatar
aeffertz
Posts: 3048
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 7:01 am
Team: Malt Liquor Boiz
Location: Wiscansin

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby aeffertz » Mon Mar 14, 2016 3:50 am

Not if you choose to keep your files during the upgrade.
Need a custom track object? Send me a PM! Will model for beer money.

Image

John23
Posts: 2861
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:38 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby John23 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:52 pm

Is this still an issue? I'm building a new PC and debating between 8.1 again, or upgrading to 10. Thoughts?
Ddavis wrote:Who knows who is to blame, but the world is a fucked up place and there's a lot of fucked up people.

User avatar
Racers52
Posts: 2727
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:10 pm
Team: rF Gaming
Location: Arkansas
Contact:

Re: Dont get Windows 10 Unless....

Postby Racers52 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:58 pm

John23 wrote:Is this still an issue? I'm building a new PC and debating between 8.1 again, or upgrading to 10. Thoughts?


Image

Looks like windows 7 is your best bet


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests