mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
User avatar
MxWayGamer
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:46 pm
Team: MTFactory

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby MxWayGamer » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:08 am

So, I will wait because it's always not good
Image

User avatar
MxWayGamer
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:46 pm
Team: MTFactory

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby MxWayGamer » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:42 am

I said nothing, it's work now.
Image

User avatar
MxWayGamer
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:46 pm
Team: MTFactory

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby MxWayGamer » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:10 pm

Can i have a file like lineup-file but with list of tracks who are on my server ?
Image

jason155
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:12 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby jason155 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:10 pm

hello all,

i'm using this server for a long time, but a few weeks ago i try to start the server and everything was fine but it is running really slow idk what is wrong is it my pc or is it a program problem ?

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5907
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby Wahlamt » Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:07 pm

jason155 wrote:hello all,

i'm using this server for a long time, but a few weeks ago i try to start the server and everything was fine but it is running really slow idk what is wrong is it my pc or is it a program problem ?

Try set it as high priority on your pc, in task manager.

jason155
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:12 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby jason155 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:29 am

Wahlamt wrote:
jason155 wrote:Try set it as high priority on your pc, in task manager.


Do you Mean to set Mx simulator in priority or thé program that is Running thé server ?
And thanks for thé help

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5907
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby Wahlamt » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:33 am

jason155 wrote:
Wahlamt wrote:
jason155 wrote:Try set it as high priority on your pc, in task manager.


Do you Mean to set Mx simulator in priority or thé program that is Running thé server ?
And thanks for thé help

The server, so mxserver.exe I think it is called. Server programming running when the server is on.

jason155
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:12 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby jason155 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:49 am

Wahlamt wrote:The server, so mxserver.exe I think it is called. Server programming running when the server is on.


i have tried it again but it is stilll running slow, maybe a little faster but still not fast enough :(

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5907
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby Wahlamt » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:23 am

jason155 wrote:
Wahlamt wrote:The server, so mxserver.exe I think it is called. Server programming running when the server is on.


i have tried it again but it is stilll running slow, maybe a little faster but still not fast enough :(

Are you doing a lot of other things on your pc? I know that when I played sim and had a server running at the same time, it was no problem, but if I started to watch a youtube video or so on chrome, it would run really slow.

jason155
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:12 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby jason155 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:10 am

Wahlamt wrote:Are you doing a lot of other things on your pc? I know that when I played sim and had a server running at the same time, it was no problem, but if I started to watch a youtube video or so on chrome, it would run really slow.


no i am closing everything when i am playing mx simulator, but in the beginning i used the server tool there were no problemsn and one day it start running slow but i changed nothing i gues

User avatar
MX4EVER
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:49 pm
Team: MXS-Concept.com
Location: France
Contact:

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby MX4EVER » Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:28 pm

Hi JLV,
I set up a windows server actually and I'm getting

Code: Select all

Can't rename lineup file: File exists
error even if all users included Everybody got the total control of the lineup files.
I saw in 2008 the RF had this issue but there isn't any comment about the resolution.

:? :?:

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby jlv » Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:01 am

That's actually somewhat hard to fix. When the server updates the lineup, it writes the lineup to a temporary file and then renames it over the specified lineup file. It does it that way so the update will be atomic - anything reading the lineup file will never see an empty or incomplete lineup. The best I can do to fix it would be to remove the lineup file before renaming the temporary file on Windows servers. That won't be atomic though, if a script checks at the wrong time the file won't be there.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
MX4EVER
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:49 pm
Team: MXS-Concept.com
Location: France
Contact:

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby MX4EVER » Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:43 am

Yeah windows is actually doing shit when you try to rename. This is tricky but here is how I already figured out this rename issue, use

Code: Select all

move /Y lineup.txt.updating lineup.txt
/Y placed after move will overwrite without confirmation.


instead of the

Code: Select all

ren or rename


Reference : https://ss64.com/nt/move.html

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12382
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby jlv » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:15 am

Digging a little deeper it looks like I'd have to use MoveFileTransacted() to get the desired atomic operation. Only problem is Microsoft says not to use it right there in the documentation. I think I'll just do "remove(fn);rename(tmp,fn);". There'll be a tiny window where the file doesn't exist but scripts can either poll until it gets renamed or use Linux if you want something more robust.

...and done:

http://mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxserver-2017-04-25-1346.exe
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
MX4EVER
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:49 pm
Team: MXS-Concept.com
Location: France
Contact:

Re: mxserver-2016-12-01-1322

Postby MX4EVER » Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:39 am

Thanks for the release. I know how better is Linux but my friends helping are too neophytes to use it :lol:


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anchor_b, SKlein, trey_carlson186 and 6 guests