2017-12-08 snapshot

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12618
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby jlv » Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:48 am

  • Added erode_limit setting.
  • Client version is now 29.

Windows users: http://www.mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mx-2017-12-08-1373.exe
Linux users: http://www.mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxbin-2017-12-08-1373

Replace mx.exe or mxbin with one of the above files. The default location for mx.exe should be "C:\Program Files (x86)\MX Simulator". I'd keep a backup of the originals since these aren't well tested.

If you aren't running a server, ignore everything below this line.

Here are the required servers. (Same as the last snapshot.) You want --min-version 29 to prevent inconsistent erode with old clients.

Windows: http://www.mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxserver-2017-11-17-1369.exe
Linux: http://www.mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxserver-2017-11-17-1369
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12618
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby jlv » Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:49 am

Here's how erode_limit works:

erode_limit <depth> <limit> <inner limit>
This sets the erode limit at a specific depth. When the track is worn to the specified depth, the depth and inner depth will be multiplied by the limit and inner limit respectively. When between depths it will interpolate. Default is 1 1 at depth 0 and 0 0 at depth 1.

To do the default you'd write it like this:
erode_limit 0.0 1.0 1.0
erode_limit 1.0 0.0 0.0
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
onefoureight
Posts: 910
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:54 am
Team: Not Splitfire
Location: Shit Posting Capital of the world

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby onefoureight » Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:00 am

yeah solid
2015 Australian Supercross 450 champion | rF Villain | Wolf Pack Racing Leader | CBL Gaming

User avatar
ColtonD719
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:15 am
Team: Privateer
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby ColtonD719 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:59 am

Sweet.

jlv wrote:erode_limit <depth> <limit> <inner limit>


Just to clarify, what is the unit of measurement for erode_limit <depth>? Is it feet below/above the original terrain? Does the limit also apply to dirt that is pushed upward (like the outside of a rut)?

Thanks!
Colton, Track Creator

Released MXS Tracks

User avatar
RevLimiter
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:25 pm
Team: Its my forum name
Location: SoCol

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby RevLimiter » Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:50 am

...love you JLV...
Image

_darkdiamonds
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:55 pm
Team: Cyber Racing Co

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby _darkdiamonds » Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:28 pm

Do i need the server download if i own a flowtech server? i dont think i do but i want to make sure. :oops: :oops:
Image

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12618
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby jlv » Sun Dec 10, 2017 2:29 am

ColtonD719 wrote:Sweet.

jlv wrote:erode_limit <depth> <limit> <inner limit>


Just to clarify, what is the unit of measurement for erode_limit <depth>? Is it feet below/above the original terrain? Does the limit also apply to dirt that is pushed upward (like the outside of a rut)?

Thanks!

No. It changes the depth settings depending on how deep it is where the wheel is touching the ground. You could try a negative depth to make more or less wear for terrain that has been raised but I'm not sure if it'd help or make things worse.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12618
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby jlv » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:12 am

Is everyone happy with the erode limit setting? If it needs any changes I'd like to do it before I wrap up version 1.12.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

Whiteracing204
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:44 pm
Team: GR Motosports

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby Whiteracing204 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:04 am

jlv wrote:Is everyone happy with the erode limit setting? If it needs any changes I'd like to do it before I wrap up version 1.12.

I love the new erode and everything but on my old computer it Lags a little. Is there anything I can do or something cheap I could buy to help with the lag?

Thanks
seeeeend iiiiiiiit

User avatar
ColtonD719
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:15 am
Team: Privateer
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby ColtonD719 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:50 am

jlv wrote:Is everyone happy with the erode limit setting? If it needs any changes I'd like to do it before I wrap up version 1.12.

I haven't noticed any problems with my limited testing. However, I don't completely understand how the game defines "depth."

When it is calculating the depth of the spot where the wheel is touching the ground, what is the reference point?

Thanks.
Colton, Track Creator

Released MXS Tracks

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12618
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby jlv » Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:33 am

Whiteracing204 wrote:I love the new erode and everything but on my old computer it Lags a little. Is there anything I can do or something cheap I could buy to help with the lag?

It can be optimized a bit more, but the last round of optimizations lowered the amount of time spent reshading after erode enough that another tenfold improvement isn't going to happen.

ColtonD719 wrote:I haven't noticed any problems with my limited testing. However, I don't completely understand how the game defines "depth."

When it is calculating the depth of the spot where the wheel is touching the ground, what is the reference point?

The depth is the difference in height between the original field when the track was loaded and the current field measured at the contact point of the wheel.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

mxfille
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:47 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby mxfille » Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:29 pm

jlv wrote:Here's how erode_limit works:

erode_limit <depth> <limit> <inner limit>
This sets the erode limit at a specific depth. When the track is worn to the specified depth, the depth and inner depth will be multiplied by the limit and inner limit respectively. When between depths it will interpolate. Default is 1 1 at depth 0 and 0 0 at depth 1.

To do the default you'd write it like this:
erode_limit 0.0 1.0 1.0
erode_limit 1.0 0.0 0.0



where do i write this?

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6303
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-08 snapshot

Postby Wahlamt » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:53 pm

mxfille wrote:
jlv wrote:Here's how erode_limit works:

erode_limit <depth> <limit> <inner limit>
This sets the erode limit at a specific depth. When the track is worn to the specified depth, the depth and inner depth will be multiplied by the limit and inner limit respectively. When between depths it will interpolate. Default is 1 1 at depth 0 and 0 0 at depth 1.

To do the default you'd write it like this:
erode_limit 0.0 1.0 1.0
erode_limit 1.0 0.0 0.0



where do i write this?

In the tileinfo file for the track.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: checkerz, DrewHD, Fabio Guido, Ivan M. and 5 guests