2017-12-13 snapshot

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
User avatar
motokid499
Posts: 1383
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:25 am
Team: Premium MotoSpodes
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby motokid499 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:49 pm

I can't find the 2018 350
Tanner Rogers

bootsie
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:23 am
Team: prototype racing

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby bootsie » Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:43 am

does anybody know how to fix this whenever I try to launch an online match from the server page it goes to the 1.11 version and it does not have 2018 bikes
Image

User avatar
GustavoMX930'
Posts: 1923
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:59 pm
Team: 2 good 4 a team
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby GustavoMX930' » Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:59 am

rename your snapshot to "mx"
jlv wrote:
Rush wrote:Why was UID 12235 not banned as well? he was doing the same thing.

Because he didn't come in here and confess like an idiot.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12940
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby jlv » Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:42 am

GustavoMX930' wrote:Yep. Like i said, on the other snapshots past 09-01 mine controller worked fine, but when i turned DirectInput off to make the game open, my controller wasn't detected in game :(

Yes, I had you disable DirectInput just to see it that was what was crashing. There's no way the controller could work with it disabled. But what I don't get is the lastlog you posted that shows no input devices. The controller shouldn't have worked if it wasn't listed after "DirectInput roll call". Are you sure it was plugged in?

checkerz wrote:Does this mean working on erode is done?

I thought it must be working OK when there wasn't much feedback for the last snapshot. I'd like to make a 1.2 update soon so if there's anything easy you need let me know.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

Ddavis
Posts: 16896
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:02 am
Team: DX3 Suzuki
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby Ddavis » Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:52 am

This isn't directly about the 12-13 snapshot but I didn't know where else to ask without making a new topic, but is there any popular servers out right now with erode?

Thanks
'13 7th [W] '14 6th [E] 9th [MX] '15 9th [MX] '16 11th [MX] '17 7th [SX/MX] '18 9th [MX]
#s 410 - 40 - 29 - 24 - 13 - 45 - 15 - 32*
NA 2 Podiums - 20 Top 5's - 97 Top 10's | Post 2018
EU 2015 450 Pro SX Main Event Win + Multiple Podiums

User avatar
GustavoMX930'
Posts: 1923
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:59 pm
Team: 2 good 4 a team
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby GustavoMX930' » Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:39 am

jlv wrote:Yes, I had you disable DirectInput just to see it that was what was crashing. There's no way the controller could work with it disabled. But what I don't get is the lastlog you posted that shows no input devices. The controller shouldn't have worked if it wasn't listed after "DirectInput roll call". Are you sure it was plugged in?

Positive, i just ran it again and this is what i got for 09-01-1362, which is weird bc on the other time i ran it, i even tested on "Customize Controls" to see if it was working at all.

Code: Select all

[0:17:34.88] Found mode 800x600x32@60hz
[0:17:34.88] Found mode 1024x768x32@60hz
[0:17:34.88] Found mode 1152x864x32@30hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1280x720x32@60hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1280x768x32@60hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1280x800x32@30hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1280x960x32@30hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1280x1024x32@30hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1360x768x32@60hz
[0:17:34.89] Found mode 1440x900x32@30hz
[0:17:34.90] Found mode 1600x900x32@30hz
[0:17:34.90] Found mode 1680x1050x32@30hz
[0:17:34.90] Found mode 1920x1080x32@30hz
[0:17:35.25] Options:
[0:17:35.25]  threaded: [off]
[0:17:35.25] Creating window
[0:17:35.30] SetForegroundWindow failed
[0:17:35.32] DirectInput roll call...
[0:17:35.34] Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows) (Controller (XBOX 360 For Windows))
[0:17:35.34] 5 axes, 10 keys
[0:17:35.34] axis 0 is absolute
[0:17:35.34] axis 1 is absolute
[0:17:35.34] axis 2 is absolute
[0:17:35.34] axis 3 is absolute
[0:17:35.34] axis 4 is absolute
[0:17:35.34] Adding axis "Controller(XBOX360ForWindows) axis 0"
[0:17:35.34] Adding axis "Controller(XBOX360ForWindows) axis 1"
[0:17:35.34] Adding axis "Controller(XBOX360ForWindows) axis 2"
[0:17:35.34] Adding axis "Controller(XBOX360ForWindows) axis 3"
[0:17:35.34] Adding axis "Controller(XBOX360ForWindows) axis 4"
[0:17:35.34] End of DirectInput roll call
[0:17:35.34] Choosing pixel format
[0:17:36.40] Setting pixel format 7
[0:17:36.40] Creating OpenGL context
[0:17:36.47] 4 texture units
[0:17:36.47] GL_VENDOR: NVIDIA Corporation
[0:17:36.47] GL_RENDERER: GeForce GT 625/PCIe/SSE2
[0:17:36.47] GL_VERSION: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 385.46


This is what i get for 12-13-1374:

Code: Select all

[0:19:59.87] Logfile "C:/Users/W10/AppData/Local/MX Simulator/lastlog.txt" opened
[0:19:59.87] JUGL 0.31
[0:19:59.88] MX Simulator version 2017-12-13-1374 snapshot
[0:20:01.57] Display scaling disabled via SetProcessDpiAwareness
[0:20:01.58] Registry mode is 1366x768x32@60hz
[0:20:01.58] Found mode 640x480x32@60hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 720x480x32@60hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 720x576x32@50hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 800x600x32@60hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1024x768x32@60hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1152x864x32@30hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1280x720x32@60hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1280x768x32@60hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1280x800x32@30hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1280x960x32@30hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1280x1024x32@30hz
[0:20:01.59] Found mode 1360x768x32@60hz
[0:20:01.60] Found mode 1440x900x32@30hz
[0:20:01.60] Found mode 1600x900x32@30hz
[0:20:01.60] Found mode 1680x1050x32@30hz
[0:20:01.60] Found mode 1920x1080x32@30hz
[0:20:01.79] Options:
[0:20:01.79]  threaded: [off]
[0:20:01.79] Creating window
[0:20:01.82] Foregrounded and locked
jlv wrote:
Rush wrote:Why was UID 12235 not banned as well? he was doing the same thing.

Because he didn't come in here and confess like an idiot.

User avatar
checkerz
Posts: 8625
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:23 am
Team: RaGe Factory

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby checkerz » Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:07 am

jlv wrote:
checkerz wrote:Does this mean working on erode is done?

I thought it must be working OK when there wasn't much feedback for the last snapshot. I'd like to make a 1.2 update soon so if there's anything easy you need let me know.

The top of jumps are not eroding properly, faces are getting taller because of it and kicker lips are forming. I don't have much more feedback than that honestly. I thought reporting the problem was still there was what was needed.

Building razor sharp jump tops isn't a viable solution for multiple reasons. A) It isn't realistic B) It causes a small clip/case to create an instant falloff instead of a loss of speed C) Any previously built tracks are no longer viable with the update

User avatar
Atom6246
Posts: 3612
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:28 am
Location: Florida

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby Atom6246 » Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:28 am

JLV would it be possible for a "Erode carry over" option for single player. Either that or a clean track every new race? I think it even carries over if you close and reopen your game. My solution is to start a race on a different track then go back, obviously thats not very efficient.
Check out my Twitch channel by clicking the pic below!
Image

User avatar
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: BPC
Location: Cold

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby Jakob Hubbard » Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:56 pm

Atom6246 wrote:JLV would it be possible for a "Erode carry over" option for single player. Either that or a clean track every new race? I think it even carries over if you close and reopen your game. My solution is to start a race on a different track then go back, obviously thats not very efficient.

I think this would be a very interesting concept not only for single player but for rF too. Like they reset the track after the heats and lcqs right before the main but the heats and lcqs all go through the same rough and rutted track. I don't expect it to happen by any means but I think the erode carry over feature would be a sick idea to see within the game.

User avatar
Jannikmx15
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:29 am
Team: Blume Racing
Location: Germany

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby Jannikmx15 » Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:22 pm

Wahlamt wrote:
AHeckman2 wrote:My game crashes every time I open it for the first time of the day, but after it crashes the first time I can open it normally without any problems. Been doing those for the last few snapshots

* Last few years haha

Having the same issue. Anyone knows how to fix it?
Image

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6873
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:23 pm

Jannikmx15 wrote:
Wahlamt wrote:
AHeckman2 wrote:My game crashes every time I open it for the first time of the day, but after it crashes the first time I can open it normally without any problems. Been doing those for the last few snapshots

* Last few years haha

Having the same issue. Anyone knows how to fix it?

Only solution I've found is to not have the folders being too big. It always works 10/10 times on clean installs, but as soon as you add your 100GB of content to the game, it fails to open immediately, most times.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12940
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby jlv » Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:15 am

GustavoMX930' wrote:
jlv wrote:Yes, I had you disable DirectInput just to see it that was what was crashing. There's no way the controller could work with it disabled. But what I don't get is the lastlog you posted that shows no input devices. The controller shouldn't have worked if it wasn't listed after "DirectInput roll call". Are you sure it was plugged in?

Positive, i just ran it again and this is what i got for 09-01-1362, which is weird bc on the other time i ran it, i even tested on "Customize Controls" to see if it was working at all.

Maybe you accidentally ran it with no controller before you grabbed the lastlog file. If there's nothing in that list the game would have no way to read a controller. I'll add some more debug messages and see it we can narrow it down a little more. Pretty sure it's crashing creating the directinput object.

checkerz wrote:
jlv wrote:
checkerz wrote:Does this mean working on erode is done?

I thought it must be working OK when there wasn't much feedback for the last snapshot. I'd like to make a 1.2 update soon so if there's anything easy you need let me know.

The top of jumps are not eroding properly, faces are getting taller because of it and kicker lips are forming. I don't have much more feedback than that honestly. I thought reporting the problem was still there was what was needed.

Building razor sharp jump tops isn't a viable solution for multiple reasons. A) It isn't realistic B) It causes a small clip/case to create an instant falloff instead of a loss of speed C) Any previously built tracks are no longer viable with the update

I was hoping the depth limit setting would help with that. The problem isn't just the rounded top. The jumps are also hump faced, meaning the jump's steepest slope is midway up the face. That means the bike is already taking off mid-jump, so at first it's only eroding up to mid-face. With only the lower part of the jump eroding the jump inevitably gets steeper. Here's an illustration to show what's happening:

Image

Since that effect is natural the best I can do is limit it. That's why I added the new depth limit option. On a hump faced jump the takeoff point will still progress up the face as the jump wears but you can at least limit it to something like the first line in the illustration. If you could give it a test I'd really like to know if it helps.

Here's a setting to start with that should minimize jump steepening. (This is just for trying to make those specific jumps workable. I wouldn't recommend these settings in general since it won't make good braking/acceleration bumps or berms.)

erode_radius 8
erode_depth 0.0
erode_inner_radius 2
erode_inner_depth 1.0
erode_limit 0.0 1.0 1.0
erode_limit 0.5 0.0 0.0

Wahlamt wrote:Only solution I've found is to not have the folders being too big. It always works 10/10 times on clean installs, but as soon as you add your 100GB of content to the game, it fails to open immediately, most times.

I didn't realize it was happening in the file scan. I might be able to fix that.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
GustavoMX930'
Posts: 1923
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:59 pm
Team: 2 good 4 a team
Contact:

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby GustavoMX930' » Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:18 am

jlv wrote:Maybe you accidentally ran it with no controller before you grabbed the lastlog file. If there's nothing in that list the game would have no way to read a controller. I'll add some more debug messages and see it we can narrow it down a little more. Pretty sure it's crashing creating the directinput object.

Any thought of what may fix it?
jlv wrote:
Rush wrote:Why was UID 12235 not banned as well? he was doing the same thing.

Because he didn't come in here and confess like an idiot.

User avatar
SKlein
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:08 pm
Team: Evergood
Location: MN

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby SKlein » Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:04 pm

Jakob Hubbard wrote:I think this would be a very interesting concept not only for single player but for rF too. Like they reset the track after the heats and lcqs right before the main but the heats and lcqs all go through the same rough and rutted track. I don't expect it to happen by any means but I think the erode carry over feature would be a sick idea to see within the game.


jlv wrote:
SKlein wrote:With erode online could it be possible to, in the case of an MX event, carry over an erode log/file from one moto to the next?

I doubt I'd do the erode carryover. Probably won't even sync up late joining spectators.

User avatar
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: BPC
Location: Cold

Re: 2017-12-13 snapshot

Postby Jakob Hubbard » Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:10 pm

SKlein wrote:
Jakob Hubbard wrote:I think this would be a very interesting concept not only for single player but for rF too. Like they reset the track after the heats and lcqs right before the main but the heats and lcqs all go through the same rough and rutted track. I don't expect it to happen by any means but I think the erode carry over feature would be a sick idea to see within the game.


jlv wrote:
SKlein wrote:With erode online could it be possible to, in the case of an MX event, carry over an erode log/file from one moto to the next?

I doubt I'd do the erode carryover. Probably won't even sync up late joining spectators.

Ahh, yeah that would make sense.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests