JLV should use Unreal Engine 4!

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
swoodmx
Crushed Dissenter
Team: Privateer

JLV should use Unreal Engine 4!

Post by swoodmx »

I am no programmer by any means but I wonder how hard it would be for jlv to move the great physics he has already fine tuned over to a game engine with some easy to work with graphics pipelines that would make this game the best there ever was, I mean it's the only thing holding this baby back was the graphics in the first place. Imagine this game with near photo realistic visuals that you could pull off and the quality and fidelity of the roost and shader terrain updates that could be rendered in real time with mixtures of glossy and diffuse looks that would happen when you have mud mixed in with some harder dirt, Unreal Engine 4 would give JLV the power to pull shader mixtures like this off that look realistic with minimal performance problems I mean the lighting upgrade alone is worth the switch!
Jakob Hubbard
Team: Phil's

Re: JLV should use Unreal Engine 4!

Post by Jakob Hubbard »

Although this would make the game look incredible with these graphics and well as spark a popularity growth with them, this would change the entire aspect of Mx Simulator. Let me show you an example.

Tracks nowadays are made with specific decal textures that players put inside the track folder which are then put onto the track. My guess is if jlv switched engines, this would mess with the whole decal system and textures as we know.

Basically what I'm getting at is that if jlv wanted to change engines, he would pretty much need to start from scratch and redo almost everything with the game. If jlv ever feels up to it, could we ever see an Mx Simulator 2? Or Mx Simulator 2019 or something along those lines?