How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Wahlamt » Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:28 am

Sam511 wrote:I click ok but then it doesn't come up with the save window so I can't save it as a BMP?

Save it as any other image file if that's an option, since photoshop can open quite a lot of formats. Also the other guides are on the 2015 (or 2013) versions which may make it different.

Sam511
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:41 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Sam511 » Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:40 am

Is there any links to a 2015 version for Mac?

Sam511
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:41 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Sam511 » Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:41 am

Or 13

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Wahlamt » Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:56 am

Sam511 wrote:Is there any links to a 2015 version for Mac?

Not sure, just google for an installer.

Sam511
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:41 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Sam511 » Sun Jul 10, 2016 3:27 am

I could only find the 2016 versions, are there any mac users out there could drop their 2015 version on media or something?

Sam511
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:41 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Sam511 » Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:13 am

Never mind, I found a 2015 version and it still didn't save, guess I just can't make the track

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Wahlamt » Sun Jul 10, 2016 7:48 am

Sam511 wrote:Never mind, I found a 2015 version and it still didn't save, guess I just can't make the track

Freehand the terrain and elevation, always gives you a better result if you're precise.

Sam511
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:41 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Sam511 » Sun Jul 10, 2016 8:40 am

I'll try, or could some one just do that one thing if I send the map and everything done to that Point?

K-Xtreme
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:00 am

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby K-Xtreme » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:36 pm

Hey guys !

I don't have photoshop and I would really like to make my home track to scale! can someone do the terrain think for me ?!

John23
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:38 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby John23 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 1:30 am

How come I can't find the "mesh2heighmap" plugin
Ddavis wrote:Who knows who is to blame, but the world is a fucked up place and there's a lot of fucked up people.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Wahlamt » Wed Mar 01, 2017 4:32 am

John23 wrote:How come I can't find the "mesh2heighmap" plugin

Have you downloaded and imported it? Also if you have a newer version than 2013 I think, you need the .rbz one, not .rb.

John23
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:38 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby John23 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:59 am

Wahlamt wrote:
John23 wrote:How come I can't find the "mesh2heighmap" plugin

Have you downloaded and imported it? Also if you have a newer version than 2013 I think, you need the .rbz one, not .rb.

I downloaded it, and put into the AppData plugins spot. In Extension Manger, it shows up, but I can't seem to find it anywhere. Where is the .rbz file? I can only find the .rb file.
Ddavis wrote:Who knows who is to blame, but the world is a fucked up place and there's a lot of fucked up people.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby Wahlamt » Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:16 am

John23 wrote:
Wahlamt wrote:
John23 wrote:How come I can't find the "mesh2heighmap" plugin

Have you downloaded and imported it? Also if you have a newer version than 2013 I think, you need the .rbz one, not .rb.

I downloaded it, and put into the AppData plugins spot. In Extension Manger, it shows up, but I can't seem to find it anywhere. Where is the .rbz file? I can only find the .rb file.

Think it's this one: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=33212&start=15#p651068

John23
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:38 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby John23 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:53 am

I have found out how to get the plugin working, but when I do the model to height map, I name it "Mountainview.bmp" and set the location to my desktop. Once I get the window that says it was completed, there is nothing but an empty folder on my desktop and it gives me an error saying it no longer exists.
Ddavis wrote:Who knows who is to blame, but the world is a fucked up place and there's a lot of fucked up people.

barrington314
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:03 pm
Team: me
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: How-To: Create Replica Track Height Map (Sketchup Method)

Postby barrington314 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:45 pm

So I found out that 2016 or older no longer supports geo location adding. Which means you have to download 2017.
So get the extension that Puma has provided...
Pumaxcs wrote:Looks like that works looking at the details. You can export it as .RAW, greyscale, 16 bit then convert it to PNG in Ps or something.

This is the file, so you don't have to sign up to get it. I'll test it out soonish, should work the same way as before I'd guess but I'll try it and update if anything has changed (or anyone else can).
https://www.mediafire.com/?qwtdssxwst3wnt5


Then I found the plugins folder like this...
C:\Users\YOUR USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp 2017\Plugins
I put that extension in there.
Open Sketchup2017.
Go to Window > Extension Manager
Then Click on the "Install Extension" Red button at the bottom.
Go to this location again C:\Users\YOUR USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp 2017\Plugins
And add the extension. You should be all set from there.


Return to “Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests