Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Post your suggestions here
User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5792
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:41 am

This error occurs where there are sharp edges. Ever since then new update with less dots (which is awesome), I've noticed that the editor shows things incorrect the setting from terrain.
Image

On the track and in the original gradient, between the 3rd and 4th dot from the left, there is the same "nice landing", not a big wall, it's a steep wall up to there, but the it doesn't end where it should end. So here's a nice paint illustration to show it.
Image

Another thing I've noticed is on normal jumps. I like to make the face 3 dots. The first on normal ground (still to the right of the edge one), to the next on there's a curve for a smooth face, the for the "kick" there's a line to the end of the face, as shown in figure 2 above. However if I use set from terrain on a jump like that (doesn't have to be especially steep), it will add a curve as the red line, so the face becomes less steep and sharp. Kind of frustrating to have to reshape things while using "set from terrain" due the dots messing up. ;)

Anyone else experiencing this?

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12269
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby jlv » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:43 am

I didn't notice it but I can see how it'd happen. Kind of hard to simplify the gradient while keeping the linear segments right. What are the segment types for the segments before and after the bad one?
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5792
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:48 am

I'd say it goes from a "Curved->linear->linear" to "Curved->curved->linear", at least in #2. At the sharp skymadness tracks, I usually set the 2 end points of the gradients on the same height (so linear) and no point inbetween them. However when I connect a new gradient by just using "set from terrain", it adds a (super)curved one before the linear that goes straight down to the bottom level.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5792
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:49 am

If you want, I might be able to make a video demonstrating tomorrow.

barrington314
Posts: 6018
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:03 pm
Team: me
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby barrington314 » Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:45 am

I've noticed long before the update to the gradients. Specifically when I would make a gradient for the supercross bridge and then set from terrain later. It does suck but I understand we may not be able to have it one way or another. ("Kind of hard to simplify the gradient while keeping the linear segments right.")

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 5792
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:30 am

barrington314 wrote:I've noticed long before the update to the gradients. Specifically when I would make a gradient for the supercross bridge and then set from terrain later. It does suck but I understand we may not be able to have it one way or another. ("Kind of hard to simplify the gradient while keeping the linear segments right.")

Yeah, you can only do so specific with such a small amount of points. I wouldn't be bothered with 50-100% more dots to make the gradients more precise. It'd still be way less dots than before..

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12269
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby jlv » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:53 am

No need for a video. It was pretty easy to duplicate. The problem is when it deletes a point it only checks how far off the curve it is and doesn't check how it affects the surrounding slopes. I could make it account for that but it could easily make it create a million points again in some unforeseen situations.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

SMR 510RR
Posts: 2478
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:36 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby SMR 510RR » Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:19 am

any way to have a slider to adjust how precise it would be? I guess check the angle of the point at each vert and if it is less than a threshold set by the slider it is omitted and if it is over it is kept or something like that?

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12269
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby jlv » Wed Oct 21, 2015 3:32 am

That could be done although I'm not sure it's worth the trouble. It's best to just keep the original gradients.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

barrington314
Posts: 6018
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:03 pm
Team: me
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby barrington314 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:47 pm

jlv wrote:That could be done although I'm not sure it's worth the trouble. It's best to just keep the original gradients.


JLV, how much trouble would this be. I think it would be useful mainly in SX. But the current update IS better for building national style terrains. However, in some situations it would probably still be nice to have the options for more accurate points.

The thing that made me think of this again is that I wanted to copy something from Checkerz track without using photoshop, as he does. And I'm not so confident that "set from terrain" picked it up properly. I could use PS in this case, but I promise I'd use this suggestion more than just this once.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12269
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby jlv » Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:36 am

I want to make some texture management updates and add the 2017 dynos first. Once that's done I'm calling it 1.11. I'll see what I can do after that.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

Pushin The Limits
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:58 pm

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby Pushin The Limits » Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:59 am

jlv wrote:I want to make some texture management updates and add the 2017 dynos first. Once that's done I'm calling it 1.11. I'll see what I can do after that.

yes yes yes yes yes yes im happy new dynos again yah yah yah yah we love you ps i love you more than anyone <3
William Seim
Ktmrdr11 wrote:That's like saying you're not paying for the gear psd, your paying for my pornhub subscription.

User avatar
sethiemeboi
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:17 pm
Team: VlastMX
Location: Right Behind You....
Contact:

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby sethiemeboi » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:21 pm

Pushin The Limits wrote:
jlv wrote:I want to make some texture management updates and add the 2017 dynos first. Once that's done I'm calling it 1.11. I'll see what I can do after that.

yes yes yes yes yes yes im happy new dynos again yah yah yah yah we love you ps i love you more than anyone <3
Image

VUSTTOS
Posts: 700
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 2:02 am
Team: Spanish MX Gamers
Location: GPS not working

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby VUSTTOS » Fri Dec 16, 2016 6:21 pm

jlv wrote:I want to make some texture management updates and add the 2017 dynos first. Once that's done I'm calling it 1.11. I'll see what I can do after that.


Would you be able to add a black background plate to the 250's and keep it white for the 450's?

Lot of people plays with the competitors volume set to 0 so it's would be awesome to be able to visualize whos on 450's and whos on 250's.
Image

User avatar
sethiemeboi
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:17 pm
Team: VlastMX
Location: Right Behind You....
Contact:

Re: Editor incorrection with sharp edges

Postby sethiemeboi » Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:23 pm

VUSTTOS wrote:
jlv wrote:I want to make some texture management updates and add the 2017 dynos first. Once that's done I'm calling it 1.11. I'll see what I can do after that.


Would you be able to add a black background plate to the 250's and keep it white for the 450's?

Lot of people plays with the competitors volume set to 0 so it's would be awesome to be able to visualize whos on 450's and whos on 250's.


its a good idea, but all the manufacturers keep white plates stock on every single make. wouldn't be realistic
Image


Return to “Suggestion Box”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests