Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Post your suggestions here
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 13305
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby jlv » Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:48 am

The installer only touches the install folder, the shortcuts and the file associations.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

MXTrent75287
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby MXTrent75287 » Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:37 am

I don't understand where to place the mklink. i placed the folder where I want it but didn't know if I place the link in the launcher or original personal folder location or something. Hell idk..
FatTree25 wrote:Trent did say it best though.

My Stats | Add me on Steam

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 13305
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby jlv » Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:50 pm

Use a command prompt.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

MXTrent75287
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby MXTrent75287 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:25 am

Okay, I thought I did this correctly and everything was working. Then I noticed that the folder is still located on my main drive. It now has a arrow on the folder icon which I thought had something to do with the link. But the folder still says its located on the main drive that I don't want.
FatTree25 wrote:Trent did say it best though.

My Stats | Add me on Steam

Klazyz
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby Klazyz » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:55 pm

MXTrent75287 wrote:Okay, I thought I did this correctly and everything was working. Then I noticed that the folder is still located on my main drive. It now has a arrow on the folder icon which I thought had something to do with the link. But the folder still says its located on the main drive that I don't want.


yeah I thought it was that also, but its just a shortcut to where it is now :) so dont worry

MXTrent75287
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby MXTrent75287 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:27 am

Haha yeah I realized that and felt kinda dumb.
FatTree25 wrote:Trent did say it best though.

My Stats | Add me on Steam

User avatar
waynesim
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 4:48 am
Team: Privateer
Location: Nelson,New Zealand

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby waynesim » Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:08 am

Thanks for this,my MXS folder's just getn too damn big :lol:
Image

User avatar
erle_vaughan
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:30 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby erle_vaughan » Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:04 am

I used:

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/eavee/1TbHDD/MXSUSER -t /home/eavee/.mxsimulator


now it takes ages to load into the game and some of my tracks are listed like 21 times, however none of the 21 work right.

User avatar
erle_vaughan
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:30 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby erle_vaughan » Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:07 am

this is what it looks like

Image

User avatar
erle_vaughan
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:30 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby erle_vaughan » Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:14 am

Actual it looks like my helmets and gear are also duplicated in the game.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 13305
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby jlv » Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:08 am

Try this:

cd ~
mv .mxsimulator .mxsimulator_orig
ln -s /media/eavee/1TbHDD/MXSUSER .mxsimulator
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
erle_vaughan
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:30 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby erle_vaughan » Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:12 am

Still getting the the same results.

I removed everything, and tried a fresh install even

So i have taken everything out the MXSUSER folder and will add tracks and stuff one by one to see where the issue is... so far i have put all the 14/15 SX in with no problems.

User avatar
tyskorn
Posts: 6476
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:52 pm
Team: Adept MX Graphics
Location: Utah, USA
Contact:

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby tyskorn » Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:30 am

Image
Image
So, I just had to reformat and cannot get this to work. I even acquired the assistance of the almighty ktm57 with no luck. What am I doing wrong? The MX Simulator folder on my HDD (D:) is the folder I want to duplicate onto my SSD (C:) where Windows is installed. I feel like I did the link correctly. I tried doing it as both a Junction and a Symlink with /J and /D respectively in the command prompt. Regardless of what I do, the game will not get past the loading bar. I'm not sure if it's just trying to load all 180GB of shit and I should leave it open overnight or if I messed up somewhere.

btw I miss toto
Image

User avatar
tyskorn
Posts: 6476
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:52 pm
Team: Adept MX Graphics
Location: Utah, USA
Contact:

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby tyskorn » Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:27 am

Y'all gotta help me. I'm lost :lol: The only thing I've gotten to work is by doing an mklink without /J or /D and it loaded my config and title image, but none of my skins or tracks.
Image

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 13305
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Setting new MXS user directory path variable

Postby jlv » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:45 am

Are you sure the link is working? What happens when you open "%localappdata%\MX Simulator"?

Why don't you just install the game and your downloaded stuff in "D:\MX Simulator" and only use the localappdata location for demos and screenshots? That way you don't have to mess with links and you're less likely to get any stutters from demo recording.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.


Return to “Suggestion Box”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Knowledge and 1 guest