Tyre Pressure

Post your suggestions here
aussiekid274
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:11 am
Team: Suzuki Privateer
Location: Australia,Queensland

Tyre Pressure

Postby aussiekid274 » Tue Jul 05, 2011 1:44 am

I reckon it would be really cool fi you could change the amount of PSI you have in your tubes. Lower PSI for muddy/sandy tracks and higher for hardpack dry tracks. This would help with traction also. Thanks :D
Image
Name: Aussiekid
Number: 274
Track Special: Supercross
Dirtcycle: 2011 RM-Z250 Stock
Suzuki Privateer

User avatar
Sib43
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 7:10 pm
Team: pridemx.at
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby Sib43 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:07 am

1. mostly you don't know what tracks come next after restarts online!
2. I guess most ppl here don't wanna change this before every restart.

NO
Image

aussiekid274
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:11 am
Team: Suzuki Privateer
Location: Australia,Queensland

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby aussiekid274 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:43 am

mm very true, didnt think of online.. thankyou.
Image
Name: Aussiekid
Number: 274
Track Special: Supercross
Dirtcycle: 2011 RM-Z250 Stock
Suzuki Privateer

User avatar
02RR02
Posts: 998
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 4:36 pm
Team: JNR Motorsports
Location: Norway

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby 02RR02 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:24 pm

Sib43 wrote:1. mostly you don't know what tracks come next after restarts online!

You do if you read the track lineup tread, and you basicly know the track your riding on if you're going to race races on 19802
Sib43 wrote:2. I guess most ppl here don't wanna change this before every restart.

Sure, but how many people do change their suspension setup for each and every restart/track changes?

I think it's a great suggestion! :)

MX196
Posts: 2263
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:02 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby MX196 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:35 pm

I can't believe I've never thought about this before. I dont mind changing a few PSI on each restart. It sure would help I would think.

Mikey
Posts: 6967
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby Mikey » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:45 pm

If this would improve the ridiculous amount of times your front wheel washes out, i want it.
My photography work
www.mikeowenphotographer.com

User avatar
Sib43
Posts: 1861
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 7:10 pm
Team: pridemx.at
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby Sib43 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:46 pm

why not having the best tyre pressure? We do not need to change it before every restart!

Well it would be cool first few days. But changing it, after (nearly) every restart would be annoying as hell and +90% would stop to change it i guess!
Image

User avatar
yzmxer608
Posts: 15255
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: Race Tech/SD
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby yzmxer608 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:43 pm

Most people won't change it for every restart, why do you keep thinking people change their whole setup after a restart to a new track?
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.

aussiekid274
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:11 am
Team: Suzuki Privateer
Location: Australia,Queensland

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby aussiekid274 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:43 am

:D good to hear some people like it :)
Image
Name: Aussiekid
Number: 274
Track Special: Supercross
Dirtcycle: 2011 RM-Z250 Stock
Suzuki Privateer

User avatar
DJ99X
Posts: 15467
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Land Down Under

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby DJ99X » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:55 am

This is pointless. Everyone will just run whatever is best for the track, so why not just let the track maker decide what is the best traction? Oh wait, they already have that option...

And if you model tyre pressure, then you will need to model other downsides to it, like how a tyre with the correct pressure rating will have a better resistance to getting a puncture than a low pressure tyre.

User avatar
Bonair
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:46 am
Location: East Coast

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby Bonair » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:08 pm

DJ99X wrote:Everyone will just run whatever is best for the track

No? People will pick what they like. Most people will just keep it the same because if your setup isn't getting along with you then its just another variable. Personally I think this would be awesome, it is a simulator...
Image

User avatar
Phathry25
Posts: 7374
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:09 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Location: WI
Contact:

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby Phathry25 » Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:57 am

What don't you kids get?

You change tire pressure to adapt to changing track conditions. Our track conditions are constant. We'll all arrive at an optimum tire pressure to run on each track in the end anyways. Running more or less air in the front or rear won't change the balance of the bike, there is no point in it.

dylan22
Posts: 2635
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:46 am
Location: South Australia
Contact:

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby dylan22 » Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:32 am

If im not fussy enough to do this in real life, im sure as helll not worrying about tyre pressure for a game.
Image
Intel i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz. GeForce GTX 680 4GB. 16 GB RAM

User avatar
Bonair
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:46 am
Location: East Coast

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby Bonair » Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:59 pm

Phathry25 wrote:What don't you kids get?

You change tire pressure to adapt to changing track conditions. Our track conditions are constant. We'll all arrive at an optimum tire pressure to run on each track in the end anyways. Running more or less air in the front or rear won't change the balance of the bike, there is no point in it.

Of course it won't change balance. It will change speed mostly. The track conditions aren't constant either...
Image

User avatar
yzmxer608
Posts: 15255
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: Race Tech/SD
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Tyre Pressure

Postby yzmxer608 » Fri Jul 08, 2011 7:43 pm

If we had detailed erosion it would probably help more than if we had it now.
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.


Return to “Suggestion Box”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests