How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Post your questions here
User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:46 pm

Smithj76_ wrote:
Wahlamt wrote:
Smithj76_ wrote:So i recently updated my mac to high sierra, and ever since i have when i go to open mx.exe with wine the screen will either go all black or all white and all i can do is reset my computer for my computer to work again, anyone know how to fix this? Thanks in advance

I'll look at this weekend if I have time. Thanks for letting me know.

thanks man!

Unfortunately it seems to be the file system on your (presumed SSD) that is causing problems with Wine. We'll have to stand by while waiting for some answers: https://forum.winehq.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29728

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:17 pm

I have now found a way that works on high sierra! Stay tuned for the guide.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:24 pm

New guide is up! More additional guides will follow soon!

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Tue Dec 26, 2017 8:09 pm

Getting skins to work on the new Wineskins method


Accessing the editor in Wineskins install

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:48 pm

Install new snapshot

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Sun Jan 21, 2018 2:08 pm

1st post updated, questions? Just post in here. If I don't respond, hit me up via pm.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:55 am

Currently trying out erode on the stock tracks. Tried a custom track, that worked fine, but both Alcrest and Mooch didn't work. It only updated the shading as seen here: Image

I know erode has worked on windows before, so just curious why this isn't working really.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12824
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby jlv » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:47 am

It's not working for me either. I must have broken something in the defaults before 1.12. Ugh!
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12824
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby jlv » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:59 am

Looks like I broke it when I added erode_limit. It doesn't set the default limits if the track doesn't have a tileinfo file. I wonder if this is bad enough to merit an emergency 1.13 update.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:08 pm

jlv wrote:Looks like I broke it when I added erode_limit. It doesn't set the default limits if the track doesn't have a tileinfo file. I wonder if this is bad enough to merit an emergency 1.13 update.

Well, most newer tracks have tileinfo files so it's not an extreme emergency at least..

poesty
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:58 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby poesty » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:56 am

suddenly my mxsim wont open anymore... using wineskin
i try eveything with no result..
2015 champ mclb nieuwlingen mx1
2016 champ mclb juniors mx1

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:49 pm

poesty wrote:suddenly my mxsim wont open anymore... using wineskin
i try eveything with no result..

Just to give you a list of possible things:
1. The mx.exe is still there, in the correct folder?
2. The mx.exe is still specified in the settings you set?
3. Permissions have changed so you can't execute the file?
4. Re-installed sim
5. Re-installed/updated wineskin

Before you re-install or anything, make sure to back up everything in case you accidentally lose it.

Ryanphillips
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:08 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Ryanphillips » Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:54 pm

What’s up guys. I’m using wine to run sim on my Mac. Just wondering how to use erode on a Mac? You guys able to do that? Wondering if I am using mine wrong so I can’t access the file? I added picture of what my wine looks like. I click the mxsimulator file and then all my tracks and folders are there I go to the newest snapshot and that’s how I open the game. Where can I adjust erode?

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6567
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:25 am

Look in the 1st post. Part 4 "accessing the editor", just change

Code: Select all

--editor

to

Code: Select all

--erode 40

Erode values 1-100 are acceptable.
Ryanphillips wrote:
What’s up guys. I’m using wine to run sim on my Mac. Just wondering how to use erode on a Mac? You guys able to do that? Wondering if I am using mine wrong so I can’t access the file? I added picture of what my wine looks like. I click the mxsimulator file and then all my tracks and folders are there I go to the newest snapshot and that’s how I open the game. Where can I adjust erode?

Ryanphillips
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:08 am
Team: Privateer

Re: How to install Mx Simulator on Mac + Tracks, skins, using editor etc.

Postby Ryanphillips » Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:48 pm

Thanks bro I was running everything in wine. Not wine skin. So it all looked totally different. Like an old windows computer. It all worked fine but I couldn’t access it like you were able to. So I redid it with wineskin. Now everything seems to be in order. I had to put all my tracks and settings into the new game. Like I was installing a new game. New res key. All that jazz


Return to “Help / Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: deepestman and 1 guest