Install to D: How to Change Install and AppData path to D: instead of default C:

Post your questions here
User avatar
clw1115934
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:53 pm
Team: Privateer

Install to D: How to Change Install and AppData path to D: instead of default C:

Postby clw1115934 » Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:30 am

Title says it all, I want to have my 100s of gigs of MXS files stored in a folder on my D: drive. I've tried installing the game to the D: but it still looks in C:\\Users\xxx\AppData for my files. How can I change this path?

Thanks

User avatar
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 329
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: Privateer
Location: Cold

Re: Install to D: How to Change Install and AppData path to D: instead of default C:

Postby Jakob Hubbard » Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:09 pm

There's two different folders. One of them is where you actually installed your game. There should be the default files and such in there. Usually that's where I'll put all my downloaded things into. The second folder is the C://Users/NameHere/Appdata. This is the folder that typically all your screenshots and demos should be saved in. The only reason I ever go to that folder is to just get screenshots or demos. As long as you installed your game to the directory that you specified it to (the D: drive), you should be all good to put your skins and stuff in there. This is also the directory that you want to put new snapshots in. As far as I'm aware you cannot change the Appdata Path, but you can change where you want your skins to be and stuff.

Maybe a little confusing, but hope this helped.
Image

shanebell
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:32 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: Install to D: How to Change Install and AppData path to D: instead of default C:

Postby shanebell » Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:49 am

jlv wrote:I apologize for ruining all future MX games for you guys.

User avatar
clw1115934
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:53 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: Install to D: How to Change Install and AppData path to D: instead of default C:

Postby clw1115934 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:03 am

Thanks for the replies.

I got it to work by moving all of my files into the Program Files (x86) folder. I tried to do nested folders but some of my textures were missing, so all of the files are inside the MX Simulator folder with only Track folders inside that folder.
Image


Return to “Help / Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests