Fps cap 125?

Post your questions here
HeGgE
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:56 am
Team: Adept
Location: Sweden

Fps cap 125?

Postby HeGgE » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:48 pm

Is there any way to remove the 125 fps cap thats currently on? my comp is capable of more then 125 and im using a 144hz monitor!

and no i do not have vsync or anything like that enabled. :)
Image

User avatar
808
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:08 am

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby 808 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:22 pm

In what world is 125 fps not enough lmfao
PM me for free skinzzzz

HeGgE
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:56 am
Team: Adept
Location: Sweden

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby HeGgE » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:36 pm

In this world cuz it matters!
Image

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12750
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby jlv » Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:15 am

Not currently. The physics runs at 128 Hz.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

HeGgE
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:56 am
Team: Adept
Location: Sweden

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby HeGgE » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:52 am

Hopefully in the future then? :)
Image

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6484
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby Wahlamt » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:04 am

I would guess the physics would run at 256hz at the next step, which would be a lot more demanding on your computer, just to have a higher fps.

User avatar
yzmxer608
Posts: 15182
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: Race Tech/SD
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby yzmxer608 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:28 am

I remember this noob named Hegge once, must be the same guy.

;)
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12750
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Fps cap 125?

Postby jlv » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:34 am

Wahlamt wrote:I would guess the physics would run at 256hz at the next step, which would be a lot more demanding on your computer, just to have a higher fps.

256 Hz would have real advantages besides higher framerates. Smaller time steps are better in general because joint errors get fixed sooner so everything will be a little more precise. It's especially important at high speeds. At 200 mph the wheels wouldn't work well at 128 Hz because they'd be turning more than 90 degrees in one step which throws the solver out of whack.

It would be bad for slow CPUs though. The worst part is that since the physics are required to run at a fixed rate it hits the slowest computers the most and if they can't keep up they have to run in slow motion.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.


Return to “Help / Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests