Drone scanned track

All about making tracks for MX Simulator
Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:08 pm

Image

Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:17 pm

Image

User avatar
Big Smooth one3
Posts: 1002
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:17 pm
Team: TM-Factory Racing
Location: TN, for now

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Big Smooth one3 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:17 pm

Interesting. Based on that video, appears that a lot of subtle smoothing and terrain refinement would be needed, but - without seeing the terrain.png and being certain - looks like it's a pretty cool way to generate a base layout.
Justin Smedley | #304 | UID 13800 | Aggressively Mediocre Image

Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:35 am

Big Smooth one3 wrote:Interesting. Based on that video, appears that a lot of subtle smoothing and terrain refinement would be needed, but - without seeing the terrain.png and being certain - looks like it's a pretty cool way to generate a base layout.

I was used the smooth tool in Sim editor and fixed the problem 90%
Image

Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:51 am

Image

Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:53 am

Image

Jonas357
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 9:38 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Jonas357 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:03 am

So hyped for Motovated! That's my home track!

User avatar
137
Posts: 2146
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:31 am
Team: rF crew
Contact:

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby 137 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:30 pm

Decided to take a stab at it. What I did was switched the option to elevation and saved each part of the outlined part and stitched everything together in PS and then grey scaled it. It's gonna need a lot of terrain work as I have to reshape almost every jump but it would definitely be a fun little side project!

Image
If you enjoy what I make, donate to the cause 8) It's very much appreciated!!
Image

Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:01 pm

137 wrote:Decided to take a stab at it. What I did was switched the option to elevation and saved each part of the outlined part and stitched everything together in PS and then grey scaled it. It's gonna need a lot of terrain work as I have to reshape almost every jump but it would definitely be a fun little side project!

Image

Nice, I'm waiting for my brother to come back from italy and start riding supercross so i can 3d scan the supercross track at clubmx or sob.
Image

User avatar
Voips
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Voips » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:03 am

Looks pretty good.

ROSE822
Posts: 1039
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 6:41 pm
Team: Architech
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby ROSE822 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:39 pm

Bubba40 wrote:
137 wrote:Decided to take a stab at it. What I did was switched the option to elevation and saved each part of the outlined part and stitched everything together in PS and then grey scaled it. It's gonna need a lot of terrain work as I have to reshape almost every jump but it would definitely be a fun little side project!

Image

Nice, I'm waiting for my brother to come back from italy and start riding supercross so i can 3d scan the supercross track at clubmx or sob.



so kyle, my decals wasnt good enough huh? ;)
Image

User avatar
Big Smooth one3
Posts: 1002
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:17 pm
Team: TM-Factory Racing
Location: TN, for now

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Big Smooth one3 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:28 pm

137 wrote:Decided to take a stab at it. What I did was switched the option to elevation and saved each part of the outlined part and stitched everything together in PS and then grey scaled it.

Hm...so the scan isn't in greyscale, that explains a lot of the tiny ripples/bumps in that earlier video Hunter posted. Are you opening the png, stitching it together, then changing mode to greyscale? I honestly don't know if it would matter, but I wonder what would happen if you opened a fresh psd in greyscale with the appropriate canvas size, then added the png's and stitched them together so that you're working in a greyscale png.

Since I have no idea what this process is like, that might not be even slightly helpful - or is something you've already tried - but it just quickly crossed my mind.
Justin Smedley | #304 | UID 13800 | Aggressively Mediocre Image

Sandhapper
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:21 am
Team: MotoRAD
Location: The Nederlands

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Sandhapper » Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:40 pm

Big Smooth one3 wrote:
137 wrote:Decided to take a stab at it. What I did was switched the option to elevation and saved each part of the outlined part and stitched everything together in PS and then grey scaled it.

Hm...so the scan isn't in greyscale, that explains a lot of the tiny ripples/bumps in that earlier video Hunter posted. Are you opening the png, stitching it together, then changing mode to greyscale? I honestly don't know if it would matter, but I wonder what would happen if you opened a fresh psd in greyscale with the appropriate canvas size, then added the png's and stitched them together so that you're working in a greyscale png.

Since I have no idea what this process is like, that might not be even slightly helpful - or is something you've already tried - but it just quickly crossed my mind.


The video Hunter posted earlier was the heightmap I rendered out using the actual 3D model hunter provided to me. I put the terrain in blender, unwrapped it from the side, added a gradient texture to it and rendered it out from the top view. There are different techniques on how to render heightmaps from a 3D model, but this one worked for me. The others I tried didn't work at the time. My method, render settings and maybe the scan itself caused the bumpiness in the heightmap I rendered.

Hunter's told me the next scan that he'll do, he's going to fly his drone lower. That means the actual scanned 3D model (and textures offcourse) will have more detail than Motovated MX (track form this topic). I'm going to try the other heightmap rendering techniques again and some other render settings. I'm sure that'll all help create a great heightmap. It's a learning process for us all though.
https://www.facebook.com/rkdigitalart
2013 EMF outdoors 2nd place overall
2013 MxSCentral outdoors 2nd place overall
2012 EMF outdoors 2nd overall
2012 SMA sx 2nd overall
2011 SMA outdoors champion

Image

MotoGoon31
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 4:42 pm
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby MotoGoon31 » Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:41 pm

barrington314 wrote:Image


AWESOME!!! You can even see where the old layout was in spots. Placing trees and objects in the right place would be easy to!

LOVE seeing local tracks on Sim!! Now we just need to get a couple of these small time South Carolina tracks that are unknown to people in other places. :mrgreen:
Whether you think you can or you can't; your probably right. - Henry Ford

Bubba40
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:30 am
Team: Kyb/Enzo

Re: Drone scanned track

Postby Bubba40 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:49 am

Ok so all the club mx tracks are scanned, MX tracks kinda suck because of the trees. Sx 1 is insanely detailed at 46 feet I scanned it, compared to the last track at 247 feet. Sx 2 is at 95 feet also very detailed. Should be up tomorrow for track makers to work on. I’ll release all the files for anyone that wanna works on it. Comment on what track you guys are working on please so we don’t have 6 of the same tracks thanks.
Image


Return to “Track Editing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests