I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

All about making tracks for MX Simulator
Yamahaman95
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:15 am
Team: Jesus
Location: st.louis MO

I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby Yamahaman95 » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:12 am

Yeah ...i looked through the last log file..can't find anything to tell me where its going wrong. we're only loading in 2GB of textures, and we can play it as long as we want on single player..just not in a server..if anyone has a clue, i would love to try and figure this one out.
Tiller Crocker wrote:Look at those handlebar guards

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12886
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby jlv » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:17 am

Does it still crash if you turn your settings down?

If that's not it it could be something with the timing gates. Maybe it takes 3 minutes to hit the gate that's triggering the bug.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

Yamahaman95
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:15 am
Team: Jesus
Location: st.louis MO

Re: I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby Yamahaman95 » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:22 am

[quote="jlv"]Does it still crash if you turn your settings down?

well..having laps set on a track with no timing gates will cause that. We've done that in the past with no problem, but now that is not bueno, thank you for the timing gate idea. Appreciate it.
Tiller Crocker wrote:Look at those handlebar guards

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12886
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby jlv » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:15 am

If it's crashing I'd like to fix the bug. You're saying to reproduce the crash I have to run a track with no gates online?
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6736
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby Wahlamt » Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:59 am

jlv wrote:If it's crashing I'd like to fix the bug. You're saying to reproduce the crash I have to run a track with no gates online?

I had an issue a while back. If I remember correctly, the game will crash if you try to load a track with only one gate in "firstlap". Took me a few hours to find that it was the problem :lol:

Yamahaman95
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:15 am
Team: Jesus
Location: st.louis MO

Re: I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby Yamahaman95 » Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:53 pm

jlv wrote:If it's crashing I'd like to fix the bug. You're saying to reproduce the crash I have to run a track with no gates online?


yes, as in there are no timing gates at all on the text file, only starting gates, here is my text from the timing gates file

startinggate:
[86.000000 -5.000000 646.000000] 0.000000
[94.000000 -5.000000 646.000000] 0.000000
[102.000000 -5.000000 646.000000] 0.000000
[110.000000 -5.000000 646.000000] 0.000000
[118.000000 -5.000000 646.000000] 0.000000

with the track set to 0 laps and 0 time there are no issues, until time or laps is put on.
Tiller Crocker wrote:Look at those handlebar guards

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12886
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: I don't know how..but my latest track crashes everyone's game in a server after 3 Min

Postby jlv » Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:12 am

I've reproduced it. Thanks for the help!
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.


Return to “Track Editing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests