POVRay exporting as png's?

All about making tracks for MX Simulator
User avatar
D_ROY178
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:16 am
Team: Who knows anymore
Location: Straya

POVRay exporting as png's?

Postby D_ROY178 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:49 pm

Trying to make shadow maps, how do I change the output file type to a bitmap (.bmp) insted of a png (.png)??
Image

Sandhapper
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:21 am
Team: MotoRAD
Location: The Nederlands

Re: POVRay exporting as png's?

Postby Sandhapper » Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:24 pm

2013 EMF outdoors 2nd place overall
2013 MxSCentral outdoors 2nd place overall
2012 EMF outdoors 2nd overall
2012 SMA sx 2nd overall
2011 SMA outdoors champion

Image

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 7371
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: POVRay exporting as png's?

Postby Wahlamt » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:32 pm

Save as .pgm in photoshop. It's the ppm, pgm etc option. You'll have to enter .pgm yourself as it will suggest .ppm I think.

User avatar
D_ROY178
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:16 am
Team: Who knows anymore
Location: Straya

Re: POVRay exporting as png's?

Postby D_ROY178 » Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:29 am

Wahlamt wrote:Save as .pgm in photoshop. It's the ppm, pgm etc option. You'll have to enter .pgm yourself as it will suggest .ppm I think.


I was having trouble with getting read errors in game when I did that, at the time I thought it was a problem with povray exporting pngs instead of bmp, but I think I was me not rescaling the file before exporting from photoshop lmao.

I took the long way round and installed version 3.6 which exports them as bmp by default, since I couldn’t figure out how to place that code into povray that changes the output file type.

But thanks anyway :)
Image

User avatar
Bradclay306
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: POVRay exporting as png's?

Postby Bradclay306 » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:32 pm

next to the output resolution in POV-RAY, there will be a clear white box, before running a render put "output_file_type=s" in that box and the render will save as a bmp. at which point you need to then open it in Photoshop and follow the step that are in this forum post;

https://forum.mxsimulator.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6371&hilit=rendering+shadows
Image


Return to “Track Editing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests