Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

I've heard conversation coming out of animal pens that is more intelligent than what is going on in here.
ben_8_nz
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:54 pm
Team: Privateer

Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby ben_8_nz » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:08 pm

Ray tracing? Rtx Cards have been out a while. Is possible to add/mod DXR or ray tracing into the game?

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 7418
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby Wahlamt » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:20 pm

Who here has a PC that can handle that in a good way? :lol: People already complaining about their potato pc's :lol:

Jrife548
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:15 pm
Team: Looking For Team

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby Jrife548 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:21 pm

Wahlamt wrote:Who here has a PC that can handle that in a good way? :lol: People already complaining about their potato pc's :lol:

I know a guy who works at NASA, he said they might be able to handle down at the office but no promises.
#freesethgarrett | #freecolthans
Image

KaseoDip
Village Idiot
Posts: 1769
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:39 pm
Team: Turn Bar Racing
Location: Kansas

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby KaseoDip » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:16 pm

I have a 9900k and 2080ti and still can't get 125 fps on a national track.. I don't think ray tracing, all though it would be sick, would be possible with the current optimization of this game.

User avatar
aeffertz
Posts: 3664
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 7:01 am
Team: W.B.G
Location: Wiscansin

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby aeffertz » Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:28 am

KaseoDip wrote:I have a 9900k and 2080ti and still can't get 125 fps on a national track.. I don't think ray tracing, all though it would be sick, would be possible with the current optimization of this game.


You're doing something wrong then. But yeah, Ray tracing would done fubar your frame rate on this game.
Image

User avatar
LKR47
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:26 am
Team: LCQ Studios
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby LKR47 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:27 am

You'll probably need to hook into lars@crossmag existing post-processing files for sim, but it looks like it is possible. You don't need an RTX card, but the tensor cores will sure as hell help a lot. Not sure if PTGI will play nice with sim's materials/shaders or even the lighting for that matter, but would love for someone to give it a shot.
https://reshade.me/forum/shader-discussion/5450-ray-tracing-with-reshade-unofficial-guide

SEUS PTGI did wonders for Minecraft, but he is directly modifying the shaders through the Optifine mod. Obviously, don't try it if you have to hack your way into the shaders because that's technically modifying the game files and could land you in some serious trouble.
Image

KaseoDip
Village Idiot
Posts: 1769
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:39 pm
Team: Turn Bar Racing
Location: Kansas

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby KaseoDip » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:03 am

aeffertz wrote:
KaseoDip wrote:I have a 9900k and 2080ti and still can't get 125 fps on a national track.. I don't think ray tracing, all though it would be sick, would be possible with the current optimization of this game.


You're doing something wrong then. But yeah, Ray tracing would done fubar your frame rate on this game.

I also have my graphics maxed and almost every skin downloaded

User avatar
LKR47
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:26 am
Team: LCQ Studios
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby LKR47 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:08 am

I have it working boys... Lemme play with it some more and I'll post a little tutorial
Image

User avatar
aeffertz
Posts: 3664
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 7:01 am
Team: W.B.G
Location: Wiscansin

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby aeffertz » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:15 am

LKR47 wrote:I have it working boys... Lemme play with it some more and I'll post a little tutorial


How's it look? Let's see some video!

Fuck, I was really hoping to wait until the next gen of cards because I know my 1080 ti probably won't be able to really handle it but it does everything I need it to but if it's actually playable on the current gen... I might get out the wallet for a new GPU.
Image

User avatar
LKR47
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:26 am
Team: LCQ Studios
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby LKR47 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:12 am

Long story short... It's trash. Like I figured, it doesn't work well with sim's lighting nor with the materials. Since there aren't any baked/real-time lights it struggles to find a source to hook in to and uses a default light from the current perspective. Also, since the materials on the bike/rider/track objects aren't PBR there isn't a need for reflections.
The only thing I think this may be useful for is ambient occlusion, but that comes at a heavy price. 15 rays with 10 meter ray length and 3 light bounces per-ray-per-frame brought me to 30 fps max settings with a rtx2070. I did a few tests with erode (forgot to take screens) and it helped some, but you're better off using the reshade AO from the post-processing I linked earlier. Right now in sim's current state I dont see a use for it as most of us hypothesized, but maybe when JLV introduces some new features like HDR environments this may be worth to come back to.
Here are some screens. The gray is the path traced AO. The colors are from the bounces that happen from the camera (light source).
*All of this is screen space calculated from the depth buffer and not simulated physical bounces
Image
Image
Image
Image

I'll still post a video on how to enable it sometime this week for those who want to try for themselves. It's super easy.
Image

User avatar
ColtonD719
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:15 am
Team: Privateer
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby ColtonD719 » Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:19 am

Damn, that Niklas Sandbox screenshot looks like MX vs. ATV. It'd be interesting to see a normally rendered screenshot for direct comparison. That dude's tracks look insane anyway.

ben_8_nz
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:54 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby ben_8_nz » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:49 am

LKR47 wrote:Long story short... It's trash. Like I figured, it doesn't work well with sim's lighting nor with the materials. Since there aren't any baked/real-time lights it struggles to find a source to hook in to and uses a default light from the current perspective. Also, since the materials on the bike/rider/track objects aren't PBR there isn't a need for reflections.
The only thing I think this may be useful for is ambient occlusion, but that comes at a heavy price. 15 rays with 10 meter ray length and 3 light bounces per-ray-per-frame brought me to 30 fps max settings with a rtx2070. I did a few tests with erode (forgot to take screens) and it helped some, but you're better off using the reshade AO from the post-processing I linked earlier. Right now in sim's current state I dont see a use for it as most of us hypothesized, but maybe when JLV introduces some new features like HDR environments this may be worth to come back to.
Here are some screens. The gray is the path traced AO. The colors are from the bounces that happen from the camera (light source).
*All of this is screen space calculated from the depth buffer and not simulated physical bounces
Image
Image
Image
Image

I'll still post a video on how to enable it sometime this week for those who want to try for themselves. It's super easy.


Thank you guys so much for looking into it!

User avatar
TeamHavocRacing
Posts: 7331
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:52 am
Team: Havoc Racing
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby TeamHavocRacing » Thu Aug 29, 2019 1:25 pm

I think Cray has a machine that could handle it.
Image
Ain't that Cray cray cray?
If you were born after December 31st 1964, you weren't a Boomer.
You never see them go. They're always full. No one ever gets on, but they're always...they're always departing, but they never arrive...and the ones that do arrive, they never leave.

User avatar
Racers52
Posts: 3109
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:10 pm
Location: Texas/Arkansas
Contact:

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby Racers52 » Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:50 pm

New lighting engine would be nice. Or atleast an update so that this game is graphically competitive with minecraft.

User avatar
Hi Im Skyqe
Posts: 2925
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:52 pm
Team: wat

Re: Is a Ray Tracing Mod Possible?

Postby Hi Im Skyqe » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:20 pm

TeamHavocRacing wrote:I think Cray has a machine that could handle it.
Image
Ain't that Cray cray cray?


That would be worse....


Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests