Whats your pc?

I've heard conversation coming out of animal pens that is more intelligent than what is going on in here.
User avatar
Hi Im Skyqe
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:52 pm
Team: wat

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby Hi Im Skyqe » Fri May 19, 2017 12:39 am

Pumaxcs wrote:So sometime the weekend I'll go through driver/software one by one to see which one botched me up so bad but for now things are the way it should be. Thanks Peter


NP.. Its funny how many issues you can have from Windows deciding not installing properly somehow.. I've had it happen more than once too, wish there was competition for Windows so they wouldn't be able to drag there asses like they do... :lol:

BTW if you haven't seen go take a look at the X299 leak.. Amazing what competition can do to Intel... Finally getting more cores with equal single core performance to the four cores. :D

Pumaxcs
Posts: 12605
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:50 pm
Team: Kyle/Luiz
Location: Western, Kentucky
Contact:

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby Pumaxcs » Fri May 19, 2017 2:11 am

Racing299 wrote:Okay, so my PC was having issues with going into a boot loop. I soon found out it wasn't reading Ram slots 2 and 4. I thought no big deal and just used 1 and 3. After a few months, the lack of ram was bottlenecking higher demanding things. I tried a new mobo, cpu, and ram (CPU was the last thing replaced). On replacing the CPU, it would only boot with 1 ram stick. I unplugged it from power and shorted the battery terminal on the mobo, that gave me the second ram stick back. Its still not reading 2 and 4 though. I'm out of ideas.


Run a memtest and make sure it isn't the modules. If that works set BIOS to defaults and use XMP profile for RAM. If that doesn't work I'd contact the MB as it might be the board controller.
Hi Im Skyqe wrote:
Pumaxcs wrote:So sometime the weekend I'll go through driver/software one by one to see which one botched me up so bad but for now things are the way it should be. Thanks Peter


NP.. Its funny how many issues you can have from Windows deciding not installing properly somehow.. I've had it happen more than once too, wish there was competition for Windows so they wouldn't be able to drag there asses like they do... :lol:

BTW if you haven't seen go take a look at the X299 leak.. Amazing what competition can do to Intel... Finally getting more cores with equal single core performance to the four cores. :D


Yep. Since I just did the install I really didn't think that could be it but something happened it didn't like. I have seen the new Intel stuff but luckily I bought all my stuff through Microcenter and got a 2 year store warranty on CPU/MB/GPU/GPU. So while I did pay 2k for all of my stuff this time I can return any of those 4 parts within my 2 year warranty and get a full price refund toward anything else in their store. So my next full PC upgrade will only cost me $100 or so per thing(returned item worth full price but I'll loose the $50 I paid in warranty and on the new item I'll purchase the warranty again). I don't see any reason for me to ditch my 7700k because if Intel puts higher cores out in the wild it will push games to improve multicore and ultimately make my current stuff better. However, if I do decide to do it it won't cost me arm/leg to do so.
Image
Everytime you post something stupid, a baby gets punched in the face. Please be smart, for the children.

MXS Cares

SMR 510RR
Posts: 2466
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:36 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby SMR 510RR » Fri May 19, 2017 2:25 am

I wish we had MicroCenter here, Frys sucks in comparison.

Pumaxcs
Posts: 12605
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:50 pm
Team: Kyle/Luiz
Location: Western, Kentucky
Contact:

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby Pumaxcs » Fri May 19, 2017 3:44 am

I drove 4 hours to St Louis for one. You gotta want it. :lol:
Image
Everytime you post something stupid, a baby gets punched in the face. Please be smart, for the children.

MXS Cares

User avatar
Hi Im Skyqe
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:52 pm
Team: wat

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby Hi Im Skyqe » Fri May 19, 2017 5:11 am

Pumaxcs wrote:
Racing299 wrote:Okay, so my PC was having issues with going into a boot loop. I soon found out it wasn't reading Ram slots 2 and 4. I thought no big deal and just used 1 and 3. After a few months, the lack of ram was bottlenecking higher demanding things. I tried a new mobo, cpu, and ram (CPU was the last thing replaced). On replacing the CPU, it would only boot with 1 ram stick. I unplugged it from power and shorted the battery terminal on the mobo, that gave me the second ram stick back. Its still not reading 2 and 4 though. I'm out of ideas.


Run a memtest and make sure it isn't the modules. If that works set BIOS to defaults and use XMP profile for RAM. If that doesn't work I'd contact the MB as it might be the board controller.
Hi Im Skyqe wrote:
Pumaxcs wrote:So sometime the weekend I'll go through driver/software one by one to see which one botched me up so bad but for now things are the way it should be. Thanks Peter


NP.. Its funny how many issues you can have from Windows deciding not installing properly somehow.. I've had it happen more than once too, wish there was competition for Windows so they wouldn't be able to drag there asses like they do... :lol:

BTW if you haven't seen go take a look at the X299 leak.. Amazing what competition can do to Intel... Finally getting more cores with equal single core performance to the four cores. :D


Yep. Since I just did the install I really didn't think that could be it but something happened it didn't like. I have seen the new Intel stuff but luckily I bought all my stuff through Microcenter and got a 2 year store warranty on CPU/MB/GPU/GPU. So while I did pay 2k for all of my stuff this time I can return any of those 4 parts within my 2 year warranty and get a full price refund toward anything else in their store. So my next full PC upgrade will only cost me $100 or so per thing(returned item worth full price but I'll loose the $50 I paid in warranty and on the new item I'll purchase the warranty again). I don't see any reason for me to ditch my 7700k because if Intel puts higher cores out in the wild it will push games to improve multicore and ultimately make my current stuff better. However, if I do decide to do it it won't cost me arm/leg to do so.


Yeah crazy how the 8 core is only going to have 28 PCI-e lanes.. Have to go up to a 10 core for 40 lanes, but the speed is still 4.4 turbo boost 2.0 and 4.5 turbo boost 3.0 (single core boosts up above the rest to 4.5). Thats a pretty cool deal with Microcenter.

SMR 510RR
Posts: 2466
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:36 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby SMR 510RR » Fri May 19, 2017 7:12 pm

Pumaxcs wrote:I drove 4 hours to St Louis for one. You gotta want it. :lol:


400 miles each way to the closest one from me unfortunately.

John23
Posts: 2702
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:38 am
Team: Westside Racing

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby John23 » Sat May 20, 2017 7:17 pm

Looking to upgrade my PC. My Current PC retails for a little over $1100, so I think I can get $900 out of it. Put together a list of parts I want to get for a new rig. Looking to keep price around the $1300 range.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel - Core i5-6600K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($209.00 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: NZXT - Kraken X62 Liquid CPU Cooler ($159.89 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Asus - PRIME Z270-A ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($149.89 @ OutletPC)
Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory ($126.89 @ OutletPC)
Storage: Samsung - 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($107.88 @ OutletPC)
Video Card: Asus - GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Dual Series Video Card ($379.00 @ Jet)
Case: NZXT - S340 Elite (White) ATX Mid Tower Case ($99.99 @ B&H)
Power Supply: Corsair - CXM 550W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($37.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $1270.53
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-05-20 15:16 EDT-0400
Fun read for all: viewtopic.php?t=35077
PM me for renders

User avatar
BradyS21
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 6:15 pm
Team: EuroTrashSilencer
Location: Working the corner to earn money to buy a new pipe because I don't know what my works pipe does :'(

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby BradyS21 » Sat May 20, 2017 7:21 pm

I'm broke this week, any chance I can make that donation towards your new pc next week? Also how's the college life?
tyskorn wrote:WHOA WHOA WHOA. I apologize for Brady's language, everyone.

John23
Posts: 2702
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:38 am
Team: Westside Racing

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby John23 » Tue May 23, 2017 10:07 pm

BradyS21 wrote:I'm broke this week, any chance I can make that donation towards your new pc next week? Also how's the college life?

Image
Fun read for all: viewtopic.php?t=35077
PM me for renders

User avatar
Hi Im Skyqe
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:52 pm
Team: wat

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby Hi Im Skyqe » Wed May 24, 2017 12:50 am

Your second sentence made me stop reading.

User avatar
DBRider251
Posts: 894
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:38 pm
Team: LCQ Studios

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby DBRider251 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:56 pm

Hey guys, quick question. Would a second PC help with network lag while streaming? Right now, I only get about 2000kbps down, and that's not enough to stream 720p. I was wondering if the 2000kbps was for each system, or if that was over the total network. I've looked and looked for an answer, I just cant find anything.

User avatar
DBRider251
Posts: 894
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:38 pm
Team: LCQ Studios

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby DBRider251 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:57 pm

DBRider251 wrote:Hey guys, quick question. Would a second PC help with network lag while streaming? Right now, I only get about 2000kbps down, and that's not enough to stream 720p. I was wondering if the 2000kbps was for each system, or if that was over the total network. I've looked and looked for an answer, I just cant find anything.

2000kbps up* my bad

SMR 510RR
Posts: 2466
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:36 am
Team: Privateer

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby SMR 510RR » Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:41 pm

DBRider251 wrote:
DBRider251 wrote:Hey guys, quick question. Would a second PC help with network lag while streaming? Right now, I only get about 2000kbps down, and that's not enough to stream 720p. I was wondering if the 2000kbps was for each system, or if that was over the total network. I've looked and looked for an answer, I just cant find anything.

2000kbps up* my bad


Unless your network is completely f'ed your connection to the ISP is probably the slowest part so a second PC wouldn't help.

User avatar
mack| spokes
Posts: 689
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:15 am
Team: MMoto Suzuki

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby mack| spokes » Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:36 am

Well i have finally found a suitable name for my trusty old computer, GRAVEDIGGER. This computer is a tank i swear, i spent most of my afternoon trying to fix it changing stuff around etc and just as i was about to give up i plugged everything in for what i thought was going to be the last time and it was running perfectly smooth like usual apart from being dumb founded i was keen to see if it could be true and sure enough it was. I think my motherboard was having some trouble but after a quick rebuild it seems to be fine.
Image

User avatar
mack| spokes
Posts: 689
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:15 am
Team: MMoto Suzuki

Re: Whats your pc?

Postby mack| spokes » Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:42 am

DP Looking at buying some new parts, if im replacing my Mother Board, CPU and Ram will i need to buy windows again?
Image


Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests