Modeling a Bike for MXS

Post about creating and skinning models here
attacker5
Team: Ub e moh tow

Modeling a Bike for MXS

Post by attacker5 »

I am not that bad at modeling, i am using softimage xsi, i am however a complete noob at modeling bikes for mxs, so how should i make the bike, i mean i know how to model it, but how should i save it, what parts of the bike should be in one file, how does the game know where the handlebars pivot. etc??? Thank you for the help. :mrgreen:
Mona
Team: MotoOption

Re: Modeling a Bike for MXS

Post by Mona »

Skin and Model Naming wrote:
DJ wrote:SKIN/MODEL NAMING
By DJ
In the following, XXXX is anything, but do not include any hyphens in this part. ZZZZ is anything.

BIKES
There are currently 8 different bikes. These are:
yz250f, yz125, crf250, cr125, kx125, kx250f, rmz250, rm125

Any of these will be referred to as 'bike' from now on

There are 6 parts to a bike model. These should be called:
bike_frame.jm
bike_swingarm.jm
bike_fork_upper.jm
bike_fork_lower.jm
bike_side_plates.jm
bike_front_plate.jm

This is for the 'default' model

But you can have more than one particular model for a certain bike. To do this, you add -XXXX into the name:
eg: bike_fork_upper-XXXX.jm (yz250f_fork_upper-WR250F.jm for example)
Basically, you model the whole bike, then divide it up into the following objects:
-bike_frame
-bike_swingarm
-bike_fork_upper
-bike_fork_lower

Get it into blender, export the objects -as they are named in DJ's post- with jlv's jm export script.
example: object "bike_frame" exports with the name of "bike_frame.jm". Remember though, if you are making, say a kawasaki, you replace "'bike" with "kx125"/"kx250f" (depending on what you're making)

Obviously, you have to know how to use blender, somewhat, because you have to fit and size the objects just right, so that they line up ingame.