Command Line Options

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
ddmx
Posts: 5373
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 3:36 pm
Location: Midland MI

Command Line Options

Post by ddmx »

Complete list of command line options. Most documentation can be found further in the forums with search. "C:\Program Files (x86)\MX Simulator\mx.exe" --editor --draw-fps 1
Thanks to jlv for the heads up. Some of these I believe are outdated and will no longer work.

Code: Select all

--fugly		<0/1> removes skybox, other?
--nosound		no sound
--novertexarrays		as the name implies
--learn		AI learn
--nolearn		No AI Learn
--nommx		?
--debug		Prints more debug lines after the race
--super-debug		Prints EVEN MORE! Debug lines after the race
--practice		AI practice
--warp		AI warp
--texture-detail		no effect (<0-10>)
--ground-texture-detail		no effect (<0-10>)
--roostfrequency		<0-1000>
--erode		<0-1> terrain deformation
--detail		<0/1> @0 bad quality and heavy framerate hit
--max-detail-distance		no effect
--lod-scale		no effect
--lod-bias		<0-10> @0, no lod's
--lock-fps		<1-inf> locks fps at #
--fake-lag		<0/1> causes minor lag online
--fake-loss		no effect?
--record-audio		
--record-video		
--rotate-lineup		<0-100?> rotates single player gate position (use --rotate-lineup 11 to help with AI training)
--editor		<0/1> enables editor
--hidden-pause		<0/1> hides "pause"
--hidden-hud		<0/1> hides heads up display
--bikes		no effect?
--width		no effect?
--height		no effect?
--depth		no effect?
--draw-fps		<0/1> displays FPS in upper left
--draw-time		<0/1> displays TRT in upper left
--draw-ping		<0/1> displays ping in upper left
--draw-render-stats		<0/1> renders editor stats
--accurate-skip		<0/1> accurate timing when skipping ahead in demo
--track		<trackFolderName> loads single player track with 1 default AI
--connect		<serverIP> loads user settings into server
--password		<password> for multiplayer admin status
--chase-center		<x y z> 3rd person camera position <0,2.5,0> default
--open-home		no effect?
--glfinish		<0/1> if video driver lags by not syncing on frame swaps, enable
--print-orientation		--print-orientation | myapp.exe outputs camera position/orientation
yzmxer608
Posts: 15352
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: SYS
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Command Line Options

Post by yzmxer608 »

Some I never heard of before in there.

--fugly :lol:
--fake-lag Why would you use that?
--lod-bias Like model geometric detail?
--rotate-linup Very cool
--width and --height is for setting resolution.
--accurate-skip Is this obsolete now? Thought jlv fixed this somewhat a while back.
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Command Line Options

Post by jlv »

"fugly" used to disable texturing entirely. All it does now is disable the skybox and smooth shading when shaders are off.

The fake lag and packet loss options are for testing the networking code without actually having a bad connection.

The accurate skip option is still required for accurate demo scoring when you skip around.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
karlwb
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 10:12 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: devon,england

Re: Command Line Options

Post by karlwb »

i just seen the fps lock command

i currently run a gtx 260 and it never goes above 60 fps and the pics smooth and stable if all players have decent ping on stock tracks

recently i tried an HD5850 thinking it would perform better but it was choppy as hell, the fps range fluctuates down from 125

can i use the fps lock to cap it at say 60? it should be a better gpu right?
die996
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:45 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: 8 miles off Barcelona, Spain

Re: Command Line Options

Post by die996 »

Could you please make something similar but about the chatbox. Both admin and rider options, please
It'd be great :)
Howcanyoubesofuckingdumbthatyou'rereadingthis??
wheels1758
Posts: 4132
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 5:20 pm
Location: Washington, USA
Contact:

Re: Command Line Options

Post by wheels1758 »

die996 wrote:Could you please make something similar but about the chatbox. Both admin and rider options, please
It'd be great :)
Download the mxsever folder and check the readme. its all in there.

Heck, I'll do it.

Code: Select all

======================================================================
Server commands:

When connected to the server, you can sent it commands by chatting.
Currently the following commands are recognized:

==== Commands that everyone can use ====

server,gate <gate number>
Sets the current client's gate preference.

server,listplayers
Lists all the clients on the server.

server,listtracks
Lists the tracks available on the server.

server,play
Puts current client in player mode for further races.

server,spec
Puts current client in spectator mode for further races.

server,restart
Votes to restart the race.

server,norestart
Withdraws vote to restart the race.


==== Commands that only track marshalls and admins can use ====

server,forceplay <UID or ALL>
Forces the specified client into player mode for further races.

server,forcespec <UID or ALL>
Forces the specified client into spectator mode for further races.

server,lock
server,unlock
Locks/unlocks the server.  When the server is locked players start out
in spec mode and cannot switch from spec to play mode and vice versa.

server,nexttrack
Selects the next track in the list.

server,settrack <track number>
Jumps to a specific track in the list.

server,ban <UID> [minutes]
Bans the specified client.  If minutes is not specified or 0 the ban
is permanent.  This only affects the internal ban list.  It does not
change the ban file.

server,listbans
Lists the internal bans.  The bans from the ban file will not be in
this list.

server,kick <slot number>
Kicks a player off the server.

server,mute <UID or ALL>
Prevents a player from chatting.

server,unmute <UID or ALL>
Allows a muted player to chat again.

server,broadcast <message>
Echoes a message to all clients.

server,forcegate <UID> <gate number>
Forces the specified client's gate choice.

server,lockgate
server,unlockgate
Locks/unlocks the gate.  When the gate is locked players can't change
their gate pick.

server,clearclass
Clears the approved bikes list.  This will allow any bike in.

server,homologate <bike>
Adds a bike to the approved bikes list.  If a rider is on a bike that
isn't in the list, he will be put on the first bike in the list.


==== Commands that only admins can use ====

server,at <time> <command>
Runs command at specified time.  Time can be either a UNIX timestamp
or a relative time consisting of the number of seconds with a plus
sign prefix.  E.g. "server, at +60 broadcast 1 minute has passed".

server,clearschedule
Forgets all commands scheduled with "server,at".

server,listschedule
Lists all commands scheduled with "server,at".

server,exec <script>
Executes a script stored on the server.  Scripts must begin with a
line that reads "#mxserverscript", followed by a series of server
commands (without the server, prefix).

server,maxclients <max> [reserved]
Sets the maximum number clients and optionally the number of slots set
aside for reserved UIDs.

server,maxplayers <max>
Sets the maximum number of players.

server,reserve <UID or ALL>
Adds a UID to the reserved list.  If ALL, it will reserve the UIDs of
all currently connected clients.

server,unreserve <UID or ALL>
Removes a UID to the reserved list.  If ALL, it will clear the
reserved list.

server,serverrate <bytes per second>
Sets the server's outgoing byte rate in bytes per second.

server,shutdown
Shuts down the server.


======================================================================
yzmxer608
Posts: 15352
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: SYS
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Command Line Options

Post by yzmxer608 »

I'd like to see a list of non-server related commands too. Like the /fov, /camangle etc.
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Command Line Options

Post by jlv »

Here's the list. I really do need to document this stuff some day.

savetrackinfo
renderstats
togglespy
bbopt
pipe
namedemo
camangle
fov
fpshist
forcereload
readsetup
writesetup
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
yzmxer608
Posts: 15352
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: SYS
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Command Line Options

Post by yzmxer608 »

Thanks!
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.
die996
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:45 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: 8 miles off Barcelona, Spain

Re: Command Line Options

Post by die996 »

Really cool, thanks a lot for all the commands :D
Howcanyoubesofuckingdumbthatyou'rereadingthis??
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Command Line Options

Post by jlv »

Sorry, missed this the first time around.
karlwb wrote:i just seen the fps lock command

i currently run a gtx 260 and it never goes above 60 fps and the pics smooth and stable if all players have decent ping on stock tracks

recently i tried an HD5850 thinking it would perform better but it was choppy as hell, the fps range fluctuates down from 125

can i use the fps lock to cap it at say 60? it should be a better gpu right?
You don't want to use --lock-fps unless you're doing video recording. It doesn't run in real time so it will be slow motion when it can't keep up.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
Cooter181
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:38 am
Team: 180 Decals/TwerkTeam
Location: DFW, Texas USA

Re: Command Line Options

Post by Cooter181 »

jlv wrote:Here's the list. I really do need to document this stuff some day.

savetrackinfo
renderstats
togglespy
bbopt
pipe
namedemo
camangle
fov
fpshist
forcereload
readsetup
writesetup
JLV, could you please add the extensions of these commands so we know what they need to function? If that isn't worded properly, what I mean by the extension is, the extension of lets say /fov is <30-150> or whatever it is. Some of them I know what goes after the command, but some of them I have no idea LOL.
Image
yzmxer608
Posts: 15352
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: SYS
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Command Line Options

Post by yzmxer608 »

/savetrackinfo
/renderstats
/togglespy
/bbopt xxx
/namedemo somename
/camangle yaw pitch
/fov xxx
/fpshist
/readsetup setupname
/writesetup setupname

XXX being a number. Here's an explanation for the bbopt (billboard optimization)
http://forum.mxsimulator.com/viewtopic. ... pt#p134955
jlv wrote:The new billboard optimization looks at the next 8 billboards for one with the same texture and draws it if it doesn't overlap anything behind it. This seems to avoid most of the texture changes. You can tune the search window by typing "/bbopt 32" in the chat screen, where 32 is the new search length. The bigger the search window the more texture changes it will avoid, but it will also waste more CPU time searching. If you have a slow CPU, "/bbopt 0" might be best. I'd like to know how this affects your framerates.
Not too sure on the pipe anymore or forcereload.
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.
Phathry25
Posts: 7481
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:09 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Location: WI
Contact:

Re: Command Line Options

Post by Phathry25 »

You mean "forcereload?"

No extra stings needed there, just forces the track to reload up the next restart.
karlwb
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 10:12 pm
Team: Privateer
Location: devon,england

Re: Command Line Options

Post by karlwb »

jlv wrote:Sorry, missed this the first time around.
karlwb wrote:i just seen the fps lock command

i currently run a gtx 260 and it never goes above 60 fps and the pics smooth and stable if all players have decent ping on stock tracks

recently i tried an HD5850 thinking it would perform better but it was choppy as hell, the fps range fluctuates down from 125

can i use the fps lock to cap it at say 60? it should be a better gpu right?
You don't want to use --lock-fps unless you're doing video recording. It doesn't run in real time so it will be slow motion when it can't keep up.
ah thanks jlv, i discovered from a shack post that vertical sync enabled will cap fps at screen refresh rate which was what i was after.
Post Reply