Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

All about making tracks for MX Simulator
MotoDanny
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:20 am
Team: EstacadaRacing

Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby MotoDanny » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:12 pm

I'm far into creating my track, and the game had me re enter my registration code, and reset all my settings, and now my track won't load! Any suggestions?

This is what the game says "Error reading lighting: Unknown identifier 'dynamic'
Bad height field parameters
Error reading heights"

Cody Dawe
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:37 pm
Team: Next Level Racing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby Cody Dawe » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:55 pm

can you post whats inside your lighting file please? put it in code blocks.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 13352
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby jlv » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:51 am

Your probably have "dynamic lighting 1" instead of " "dynamic_lighting 1". Spaces and underscores are not interchangeable.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

MotoDanny
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:20 am
Team: EstacadaRacing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby MotoDanny » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:33 am

Ok I fixed that! But it still says: "Bad height field parameters" and "Error reading heights"

MotoDanny
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:20 am
Team: EstacadaRacing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby MotoDanny » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:34 am

jlv wrote:Your probably have "dynamic lighting 1" instead of " "dynamic_lighting 1". Spaces and underscores are not interchangeable.


Ok I fixed that! But it still says: "Bad height field parameters" and "Error reading heights"

MotoDanny
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:20 am
Team: EstacadaRacing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby MotoDanny » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:37 am

sneakyKittyGaming wrote:can you post whats inside your lighting file please? put it in code blocks.

Lighting file: sun_vector [ -0.6830 0.2588 0.6830]
sun_color [ 0.607 0.572 .498 ]
ambient [ 0.607 0.572 .498 ]
sky_n @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-n.png
sky_e @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-e.png
sky_s @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-s.png
sky_w @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-w.png
sky_u @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-u.png
sky_env @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-env.png
flare_element [ 0.0 1.0 ] [ 0.5 0.5 0.5 ] 0.75 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.0 ] [ 0.0 0.0 0.125 ] 0.5 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.25 ] [ 0.0 0.125 0.0 ] 0.5 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.5 ] [ 0.125 0.0 0.0 ] 0.5 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.9 ] [ 0.0 0.0 0.0625 ] 0.4 @ring.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.95 ] [ 0.0 0.0625 0.0 ] 0.5 @ring.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -1.0 ] [ 0.0625 0.0 0.0 ] 0.6 @ring.png
flare_vector [ 0 0.5373 0.8434]
fog [ 0 .48 .58 ] .0001
dynamic_lighting 0

Cody Dawe
Crushed Dissenter
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:37 pm
Team: Next Level Racing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby Cody Dawe » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:05 am

MotoDanny wrote:
sneakyKittyGaming wrote:can you post whats inside your lighting file please? put it in code blocks.

Lighting file: sun_vector [ -0.6830 0.2588 0.6830]
sun_color [ 0.607 0.572 .498 ]
ambient [ 0.607 0.572 .498 ]
sky_n @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-n.png
sky_e @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-e.png
sky_s @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-s.png
sky_w @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-w.png
sky_u @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-u.png
sky_env @FloatyMX/skybox/sky-env.png
flare_element [ 0.0 1.0 ] [ 0.5 0.5 0.5 ] 0.75 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.0 ] [ 0.0 0.0 0.125 ] 0.5 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.25 ] [ 0.0 0.125 0.0 ] 0.5 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.5 ] [ 0.125 0.0 0.0 ] 0.5 @glare.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.9 ] [ 0.0 0.0 0.0625 ] 0.4 @ring.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -0.95 ] [ 0.0 0.0625 0.0 ] 0.5 @ring.png
flare_element [ 0.0 -1.0 ] [ 0.0625 0.0 0.0 ] 0.6 @ring.png
flare_vector [ 0 0.5373 0.8434]
fog [ 0 .48 .58 ] .0001
dynamic_lighting 0

well since your previous issue is solved, then this is no longer needed lol. for the other issue, try replacing each file one at a time with one from another track(for terrain.png make sure the size of the image is defined correctly in your shading/shadingx2 files) until you find which file was corrupted. keep backups.

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 7237
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:05 am

MotoDanny wrote:
jlv wrote:Your probably have "dynamic lighting 1" instead of " "dynamic_lighting 1". Spaces and underscores are not interchangeable.


Ok I fixed that! But it still says: "Bad height field parameters" and "Error reading heights"

It has to do with your terrain.png or terrain.hf file I think. Is the terrain.png 1025x1025 or 2049x2049? And what's in your terrain.hf file?

MotoDanny
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:20 am
Team: EstacadaRacing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby MotoDanny » Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:48 am

Wahlamt wrote:
MotoDanny wrote:
jlv wrote:Your probably have "dynamic lighting 1" instead of " "dynamic_lighting 1". Spaces and underscores are not interchangeable.


Ok I fixed that! But it still says: "Bad height field parameters" and "Error reading heights"

It has to do with your terrain.png or terrain.hf file I think. Is the terrain.png 1025x1025 or 2049x2049? And what's in your terrain.hf file?

My terrain.hf just says "nul" repeatedly, and the terrain png is 2049x2049

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 7237
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby Wahlamt » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:06 pm

MotoDanny wrote:
Wahlamt wrote:
MotoDanny wrote:
Ok I fixed that! But it still says: "Bad height field parameters" and "Error reading heights"

It has to do with your terrain.png or terrain.hf file I think. Is the terrain.png 1025x1025 or 2049x2049? And what's in your terrain.hf file?

My terrain.hf just says "nul" repeatedly, and the terrain png is 2049x2049

This in your terrain.hf file, that's the problem:

Code: Select all

10 1 0 0

This is assuming you have a blank track so far.

MotoDanny
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:20 am
Team: EstacadaRacing

Re: Please help, how do I fix this? "Error reading lighting"

Postby MotoDanny » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:47 am

Thanks for the help everybody! I got it fixed!


Return to “Track Editing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests