2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by jlv »

motokid499 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:27 am I normally run 256x256 shaders direct, ive tried playing with the settings but cant seem to fix it.
It seemed smooth on my systems, but I'll do some more testing myself. If you follow this old post on how to find where stutters are happening it might help me:
If you're getting the stutter, two things would be helpful.

Type "/fpshist", do whatever makes the stutter happen, and type "/fpshist" again. Post the numbers. (It'll be in the lastlog so you can cut and paste it from there.) If you can do it with a demo it'd be better for the sake of repeatability.

Type "/reportstutter .25" in the chat screen, make the stutter happen, and post the lastlog file if it hits anything. If it doesn't say "Stutter in x - x seconds", you need to use a lower value. If you want, just post the fpshist numbers and I'll tell you a good value to use.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by jlv »

Jeremy150 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 11:18 am
jlv wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:56 am What do you guys think about ditching the statue wireframes in the editor?
I'd really prefer if you didn't. No other workaround?
There's a lot of room for optimization in the wireframe code. It's super simple and super slow right now. (It basically just draws each triangle with GL_LINE_LOOP right now.) It's just that I'd like to work on other things besides optimizing editor FPS. Maybe just add a switch to toggle them and draw the wireframe at the lowest LOD. Would that be good enough?
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: Phil's
Location: Cold
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by Jakob Hubbard »

jlv wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:39 am Probably because it has a collision file. Moving objects with collisions is not currently allowed. My fault for not documenting this.
Yep, it has collisions. Thanks for clearing up that headache :lol:
jlv wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:39 am BTW, when you do this, make sure the statue position is a pure function of time. That will make it continue to work if you rewind in a demo.

As an example, if you want something to move along the x axis at "xv" feet/second, do it like this:
mx.move_statue(index, x + xv * mx.seconds, y, z, a);

Not like this:
x += xv * mx.seconds_per_tic;
mx.move_statue(index, x, y, z, a);
Gotcha, will do. Thanks for the info.
Image
Jeremy150
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:56 am
Team: MV Films

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by Jeremy150 »

jlv wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:50 am There's a lot of room for optimization in the wireframe code. It's super simple and super slow right now. (It basically just draws each triangle with GL_LINE_LOOP right now.) It's just that I'd like to work on other things besides optimizing editor FPS. Maybe just add a switch to toggle them and draw the wireframe at the lowest LOD. Would that be good enough?
Yeah, I don't see a problem with that provided it works. Just need something to be able to adjust objects with sequence textures, especially the bales in SX.
Image
Fariz
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 4:00 pm
Team: Privateer

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by Fariz »

lucasking42 wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:24 am In the loading screen, I get to "Loading bikes... done" and my it freezes.
same
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by jlv »

Jeremy150 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 6:13 am
jlv wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:50 am There's a lot of room for optimization in the wireframe code. It's super simple and super slow right now. (It basically just draws each triangle with GL_LINE_LOOP right now.) It's just that I'd like to work on other things besides optimizing editor FPS. Maybe just add a switch to toggle them and draw the wireframe at the lowest LOD. Would that be good enough?
Yeah, I don't see a problem with that provided it works. Just need something to be able to adjust objects with sequence textures, especially the bales in SX.
I tried switching to GL_LINES and the lowest LOD and it's a lot better. Can even use the editor on the trioverload track now.

https://mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mx-20 ... 5-1613.exe
https://mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxbin-2021-11-25-1613
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot

Post by jlv »

Fariz wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 2:00 pm
lucasking42 wrote: Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:24 am In the loading screen, I get to "Loading bikes... done" and my it freezes.
same
Does it happen on every track? Can you post the lastlog.txt file?

1. Open a file explorer window.
2. Click in the location bar where it shows the current folder.
3. Type %localappdata% and press enter.
4. Open the "MX Simulator" folder.
5. Open the file named "lastlog.txt" and copy/paste the contents to your reply here.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: Phil's
Location: Cold
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by Jakob Hubbard »

No more bugs for me anymore so far. Thanks for the quick fixes!
Image
clw1115934
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:53 pm
Team: DABS

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by clw1115934 »

I'm still dropping from 125 to 30-50 fps every so often on 11-25-1613. Track is 2021 Arlington 2 with the stadium remover applied. I was worried it was the stadium remover so I tested 2021 Ironman and saw similar behavior. i9-10900k, RTX 3090, 32GB RAM so I don't think specs are the issue.

I did try specifying OpenGL version 4.6 core after checking my version, but I saw the same behavior with and without that command. This test was run without that command so I assume 3.1 was used.

https://christianw.sharefile.com/d-s96c ... 2f80709004

The folder above contains the last log with /fpshist and /reportstutter set to .01 to capture every drop, as well as the demo, my graphics settings used and a video recording of the test. /reportstutter .25 will only capture the processmessage stutter in this scenario, which I think is irrelevant. Let me know if you have any trouble accessing the files, or if you want me to test anything further. Thanks for the updates and I'll be happy to help.
clw1115934
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:53 pm
Team: DABS

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by clw1115934 »

Seems to be tied to reshade delay, mine was set at 5 for my testing which lines up with the drops. I am using --erode as well.
Gucci#9473
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: Phil's
Location: Cold
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by Jakob Hubbard »

I've found a clue as to the reason for the frame drops. I think it's tied to reshade delay and the refreshing of erode.

Did some testing on the japan sx 2021 demo from last night
Each test is from start of session to 29.5 seconds after gatedrop

fps hist with reshade delay on 7 (2021-11-25)
128=14452 64=180 32=581 16=15 8=0 4=0 2=1 1=1

fps hist with reshade delay on 1 (2021-11-25)
128=14419 64=386 32=1493 16=22 8=2 4=0 2=0 1=2

fps hist on 2021-3-31
128=6613 64=20 32=17 16=1 8=0 4=0 2=0 1=1
Image
sethypeety
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:51 pm
Team: SpitFire Aprilia
Location: in your face
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by sethypeety »

Update 11-25:
Normal gameplay is fine, absolutely no problems there. When using the editor my game drops from 60fps (I have it capped at 60) down to 20fps, and so low at points it becomes seconds per frame. This only happens while moving my courser. Using tools (raise, lower, paint, etc.) is what caused the massive spikes. Also this is on a fresh track, there are 4 tough blocks and some decals, none of them have norm/spec maps.
Image
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 14913
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by jlv »

Does this help with the slow terrain texture updates?

https://mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mx-2021-11-26-1614.exe
https://mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxbin-2021-11-26-1614
clw1115934 wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:41 am I did try specifying OpenGL version 4.6 core after checking my version, but I saw the same behavior with and without that command. This test was run without that command so I assume 3.1 was used.
The OpenGL context selection rules are a bit of a mess. Basically it's allowed to give you a newer context if it has all the required features. So if you ask for 3.1 it can give anything at or above 3.1. But if you ask for 2.0, it can't give you a 3.1 context because 3.1 removed features that were available in 2.0.

It shouldn't make much difference in any case.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.
Jakob Hubbard
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:16 am
Team: Phil's
Location: Cold
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by Jakob Hubbard »

jlv wrote: Sat Nov 27, 2021 12:52 am Does this help with the slow terrain texture updates?

https://mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mx-2021-11-26-1614.exe
Yes. This fixes the slow terrain updates.
Image
sethypeety
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:51 pm
Team: SpitFire Aprilia
Location: in your face
Contact:

Re: 2021-11-22 snapshot (Updated 2021-11-25)

Post by sethypeety »

jlv wrote: Sat Nov 27, 2021 12:52 am Does this help with the slow terrain texture updates?
Thank you for the fix. Also something to take into consideration with the wireframes, flat objects require the wireframes to be enabled in order to see them in the editor. Example:

wireframe off
Image

Wireframe on
Image

Also I noticed the wireframes only show up while editing statues. Could you please make it so the wireframe stays on while I have it enabled? I usually place the track markers before building jumps to make sure everything lines up.
Image
Post Reply