2018-05-06 snapshot

Post anything about MX Simulator here. Please. I'm begging you.
jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12782
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby jlv » Mon May 07, 2018 1:02 am

Changes:
  • Editor now ignores reshade delay.
  • No longer exits if window is hidden during initialization.
  • Fixed shutdown crash when exiting while not fully initialized.
  • Increased line length in console to 256 characters.
  • Added "erode_project_to_ground" setting to tileinfo.
  • Added "name" setting to tileinfo.
  • Added "toggledecals" command.
  • Client version is now 31.

Windows users: http://www.mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mx-2018-05-06-1400.exe
Linux users: http://www.mxsimulator.com/snapshots/mxbin-2018-05-06-1400

Replace mx.exe or mxbin with one of the above files. The default location for mx.exe should be "C:\Program Files (x86)\MX Simulator". I'd keep a backup of the originals since these aren't well tested.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
808
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:08 am

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby 808 » Mon May 07, 2018 1:42 am

Curious to know what "erode_project_to_ground" is and also is "toggle decals" what it sounds like or is it something more?
PM me for free skinzzzz

User avatar
aeffertz
Posts: 2911
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 7:01 am
Team: Malt Liquor Boiz
Location: Wiscansin

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby aeffertz » Mon May 07, 2018 2:29 am

Thank you for the toggle decals! That's so helpful.
Need a custom track object? Send me a PM! Will model for beer money.

Image

User avatar
ColtonD719
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:15 am
Team: Privateer
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby ColtonD719 » Mon May 07, 2018 10:25 pm

jlv wrote:Changes:
  • Editor now ignores reshade delay.
  • Added "name" setting to tileinfo.
  • Added "toggledecals" command

Thank you! And yeah, I’m also curious to know more about erode project to ground.
Colton, Track Creator

Released MXS Tracks

KaseoDip
Posts: 1615
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:39 pm
Team: Turn Bar Racing
Location: Kansas

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby KaseoDip » Mon May 07, 2018 11:03 pm

I was just wondering if this is even possible or could be done in the future. Is there a way to preset a server to automatically change the level of erode in respect to the number of individuals in a server? So if there are 5 people in a server, the erode will automatically be switched to 1.5 but if there were 15, the erode would automatically be set to 1.0 or something.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12782
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby jlv » Tue May 08, 2018 1:22 am

"erode_project_to_ground" does what it says, it projects the force vector to the ground before converting it to a 2d vector by removing the Y coord. If you're on level ground, it does nothing since removing the Y coord is the same as projecting to the ground. But if you're on a slope, it removes the force that's going into the slope first, keeping only the lateral force relative to the slope. Hopefully it'll help make jumps wear a little better since it'll remove the force going into the face.

KaseoDip wrote:I was just wondering if this is even possible or could be done in the future. Is there a way to preset a server to automatically change the level of erode in respect to the number of individuals in a server? So if there are 5 people in a server, the erode will automatically be switched to 1.5 but if there were 15, the erode would automatically be set to 1.0 or something.

That can be done now with a shell script. Something like "while sleep 60; do echo -n >/dev/udp/127.0.0.1/19800 x/password/erode $(5 - $((grep 'Spectator|Player' <lineup.txt | wc -l)) / 10); done". That'd be 5 for 1-9 players, 4 for 10-19, 3 for 20-29 etc. No range checking so you'd want to add a check to keep it from going negative if there are 60 clients.

The next server is going to have way better scripting so it'll be much cleaner than that.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
MxShippie50
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:27 pm
Team: Crush Kawasaki Racin
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby MxShippie50 » Tue May 08, 2018 1:29 am

one word AWESOME

Itz Raidox
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:37 am
Team: ilabb.com
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby Itz Raidox » Tue May 08, 2018 11:22 pm

ok ty
Image

TeamHavocRacing
Posts: 6560
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:52 am
Team: Havoc Racing

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby TeamHavocRacing » Wed May 09, 2018 5:27 am

Do I need to change my command line for erode still? What will --erode 1 do now?

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 6509
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby Wahlamt » Wed May 09, 2018 7:01 am

TeamHavocRacing wrote:Do I need to change my command line for erode still? What will --erode 1 do now?

Think erode is still the same as previous versions.

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12782
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby jlv » Wed May 09, 2018 10:21 pm

Erode should be mostly the same but with less effect on slopes.
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
ConnerPeavy
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:13 pm
Team: TiLube Husqvarna
Location: Florida

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby ConnerPeavy » Thu May 10, 2018 6:13 am

Can only run about a lap until my game crashes everytime, the past 2 updates this has been happening.
Image

DABZZZ
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:02 pm
Team: Vibe+
Location: Your Moms Meat Cave

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby DABZZZ » Thu May 10, 2018 9:35 pm

Thanks for all the hard work. Keep it up please <3
IG:@mxs.battlegrounds

jlv
Site Admin
Posts: 12782
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:39 am
Team: No Frills Racing
Contact:

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby jlv » Fri May 11, 2018 12:57 am

ConnerPeavy wrote:Can only run about a lap until my game crashes everytime, the past 2 updates this has been happening.

Any error messages before it crashes?
Josh Vanderhoof
Sole Proprietor
jlv@mxsimulator.com
If you email, put "MX Simulator" in the subject to make sure it gets through my spam filter.

User avatar
ConnerPeavy
Posts: 579
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:13 pm
Team: TiLube Husqvarna
Location: Florida

Re: 2018-05-06 snapshot

Postby ConnerPeavy » Fri May 11, 2018 2:18 am

jlv wrote:
ConnerPeavy wrote:Can only run about a lap until my game crashes everytime, the past 2 updates this has been happening.

Any error messages before it crashes?

It freezes for like 5 seconds then says game has stopped responding then it crashes.
Image


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests