What Cpu do I choose for mx simulator

Post your questions here
loganmay360
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:05 pm
Team: TBF Co. (spr) Gasgas
Location: Australia

What Cpu do I choose for mx simulator

Postby loganmay360 » Wed May 20, 2020 10:03 pm

Hello So I’m upgrading my computer and at the moment I have a old fx6300 6 core 6 thread, ddr3 2400, gtx 960 4gb, 240 gb ssd, 1000w power supply. It works really good, but I need the next step and I was wondering if I upgrade the cpu or graphics card. I run max settings on a full 40 grid with medium res tracks and get 60fps. I have a $500 Aud budget which is around $350 American

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 7569
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What Cpu do I choose for mx simulator

Postby Wahlamt » Wed May 20, 2020 10:37 pm

Since mxsim is single core demanding, you'd be better off with a new cpu. Had a FX4300 and noticed a big performance leap going to an i5 4690k. Had a GTX660 at that time. But if you get a new cpu, you'll need new ram, cpu and motherboard.. :|

loganmay360
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:05 pm
Team: TBF Co. (spr) Gasgas
Location: Australia

Re: What Cpu do I choose for mx simulator

Postby loganmay360 » Wed May 20, 2020 10:48 pm

Yeah I was thinking about going with the new Ryzen 5 1600 af, what do you think?

User avatar
Wahlamt
Posts: 7569
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:15 pm
Team: MLG Compton
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What Cpu do I choose for mx simulator

Postby Wahlamt » Thu May 21, 2020 4:51 am

Long time since I've been really into hardware, but for gaming I'd recommend intel or Ryzen 3000 series.

Pumaxcs
Posts: 12992
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:50 pm
Team: Kyle/Luiz
Location: Western, Kentucky
Contact:

Re: What Cpu do I choose for mx simulator

Postby Pumaxcs » Thu May 21, 2020 4:09 pm



The 1600 AF isn't new, as he said the Ryzen 3 series is newer. However, the lower Ryzen 3 series has fewer cores which in MXS doesn't matter but most other games are using more. The 3100/3300X has a faster single-core out of the box but even with that I'd still go 1600 AF just because its good enough and would perform in the long run but, depends on what the market is around you. The Ryzen 3 is more readily available and likely cheaper, whereas the 1600 AF may only be in the used market or marked up.
Image
Everytime you post something stupid, a baby gets punched in the face. Please be smart, for the children.

MXS Cares


Return to “Help / Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests