Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Trenton
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:21 am

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Trenton »

Ok then, I need heaps of help on this. I'm using the new (ish) CS4 Photoshop. Is that any different to what your using here? I'm following all the steps and then when i get to the gradient linear tool, I can't draw a square i can only draw a line, and that makes the whole map into a jump. Epic help please!
RaNDoM HeRO wrote:
NIKK SPILLANE #244 wrote:playing online is the best thing about this game
until theres little kids who bitch and whine when you tap there tire in the air or somthin
REIDY-171
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:00 am
Team: Privateer
Location: Santa Fe Springs, CA

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by REIDY-171 »

Make a selection first of what you want to be the jump, then use the gradient tool. Then the gradient will only affect what you have selected.
Image
Trenton
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:21 am

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Trenton »

Oh awesome it worked, thanks for that. Also how do i save it as a PNG so i can test it out? OR do i save it as a PSB? Or Tiff?

Thanks.
Trenton
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:21 am

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Trenton »

And down the bottom is says the file is 30.4G/626.1M. IS this the size?
RaNDoM HeRO wrote:
NIKK SPILLANE #244 wrote:playing online is the best thing about this game
until theres little kids who bitch and whine when you tap there tire in the air or somthin
jesplind
Posts: 917
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by jesplind »

The terrain must be saved in PNG and 1024x1024
Image
DJ99X
Posts: 15522
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:36 am
Location: Land Down Under

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by DJ99X »

1025x1025
Duckstream
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Duckstream »

I have my track "basics done" its a mountain and going to work on track that goes round it and uphill and stuff,
but if i try photoshop my jumps and the route the tracks going, do i have to change values in terrain.hf file?
sorry to ask this mutch junk but im not so good in these track making things.
Garasaki
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:33 pm

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Garasaki »

No you shouldn't change your terrain.hf

Pick your values for that up front and tweak your stuff in PS to match your terrain.hf values.

Changing your terrain.hf values around a bunch will do nothing more then screw you up.

Also make sure you have at least 1 pixel of pure black and 1 pixel of pure white in your disp map somewhere to "lock" the terrain.hf values down.
Image
DR.MIZ wrote: Keeping something "secret" so you can be "cool" is not making a flourishing community.
Duckstream
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Duckstream »

Okey tested some ps out, i tryed making the track "line" it worked, like it was what i wanted, BUT
the ruts what happened and all the things were HUGE! i tryed to do 4 whoops on one place BUT it turner out like straigth 4 jumps up (huge) like 3 x rider length,
and im using the rbg values to only use black and white i dont know about the 1 pixel and 1 pixel, should i like made some black and white dots somewhere in the track?
But Ty gara your realy a huge help for me, im not sutch a track maker, more of skin and suggestion gue, if i get sam-b to help me out im wery happy :)
yzmxer608
Posts: 15348
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:30 am
Team: SYS
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.A

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by yzmxer608 »

Lower the opacity of the jumps, that will make them a dimmer color and they won't be as high in game. You will have to resize them if they are too big.
TeamHavocRacing wrote:If I had a nickel for every time someone asked for this, I would have a whole shitload of nickels.
Trenton
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:21 am

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Trenton »

On CS4, when I press save, i can't find the option of png?
RaNDoM HeRO wrote:
NIKK SPILLANE #244 wrote:playing online is the best thing about this game
until theres little kids who bitch and whine when you tap there tire in the air or somthin
yomo
Posts: 1930
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:00 am

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by yomo »

You might need to go save as?
If not where it says photoshop format click that and scroll to .png (If you didnt know how to do that)
Image
jd5820
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:50 pm

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by jd5820 »

I want to make a track in photoshop, im using a blankupdated track and there isnt going that terrain .png but if i use the normal blank its good. What to do to have it on updated?
Image
Jones221
Posts: 5261
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 4:11 am
Team: Trump
Location: California

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by Jones221 »

You could always make your own terrain.png
only one to win something real from the game!
jd5820
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:50 pm

Re: Tuturial - Making a track on Photoshop

Post by jd5820 »

Yes but, i added terrain.png to blank track and smooth it and its good here. But when i added it to blank updated track, smooth and nothing happens :( .So i cant use the updated track with photoshop.
Image
Post Reply